Boston Camerata A Medieval Christmas

A Medieval Christmas
10 ratings
Price: $11.69
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  V9CH
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 13, 1991
  • Label: Nonesuch


  • 1.Isaiah's Prophecy / The Sybil's Prophecy: Iudicii Signum
  • 2.Conductus: Adest Sponsus
  • 3.Gabriel's Prophecy: Oiet / Virgines
  • 4.Clausula: Domino
  • 5.Hymn: Conditor Alme Siderum / Lauda: Verbum Caro Factum Est
  • 6.Reading: On Frymae Wes Word / Organum: Iudea et Iherusalem
  • 7.Conductus: Gedeonis Area
  • 8.Reading: O Moder Mayde
  • 9.Hymn: Ave Maris Stella / Sacred Song: O Maria, Deu Maire
  • 10.Prosa: Ave Maria
  • 11.Responsory: Gaude Maria / Hymn: Joseph, Liber Nefe Min
  • 12.Conductus With Refrain: Congaudet Hodie / In Sulci Iubilo / Hymn: In Dulci
  • 13.Reading: Hand by Hand We Shule Us Take
  • 14.Conductus: Lux Hodie...Orientis Partibus

Product Description:

This recording is also available as part of a 3-disc set, Nonesuch 79303: "With Joyful Voice - Christmas Music of Eight Centuries". These performances are also available on Cassette: Nonesuch 1315.
Personnel: Joel Cohen (baritone, lute, oud); Barbara Lakeburg, Deborah Prince, Laurie Monahan (soprano); David Griesinger, John Clark (tenor); Charles Rhodes (countertenor); Tim Aarest (baritone, shawm, recorder); Peter Hunsberger, Mark Baker (baritone); Adrienne Hartzell (harp, vielle, bells); Alison Fowle (rebec); Nancy Joyce (flute, shawm, recorder); Kenneth Roth (shawm, recorder, organetto).
Liner Note Author: Joel Cohen .
Recording information: Museum Of Fine Arts, Boston, MA.
Director: Joel Cohen .
Photographer: Peter Hunsberger.
Reader: Nicholas Linfield.
Boston Camerata's Medieval Christmas is a challenging and resfreshing holiday album. Usually, when traditional or olde carols are performed, they are contemporized in some way. That's not the case with Medieval Christmas. Everything is given faithful arrangements and is performed faithfully. It's music that is strangely familiar and strangely foreign at the same time. The end result is an enchanting, entirely original holiday album worth investigating by any listener tired of the same-old same-old. ~ Rodney Batdorf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,559
  • UPC: 075597131529
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)