Thelonious Monk Riverside Profiles (2-CD)

Riverside Profiles (2-CD)
1 rating
Price: $10.78
You Save: $0.20 (2% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HKCD
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Riverside

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Epistrophy
  • 2.Rhythm-a-ning
  • 3.Pannonica
  • Buy for $1.294.It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  • Buy for $1.295.Blue Monk
  • 6.Off Minor
  • Buy for $1.297.Ruby, My Dear
  • Buy for $0.998.Nutty
  • 9.Well, You Needn't
  • Buy for $1.2910.'Round Midnight

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Dat Dere - (with Bobby Timmons)
  • Buy for $0.992.Airegin - (with Wes Montgomery)
  • Buy for $1.293.Soft Winds - (with Chet Baker)
  • Buy for $1.294.My Foolish Heart - (with Bill Evans Trio)
  • Buy for $0.995.Desafinado - (with Charlie Byrd)
  • 6.Thermo - (with Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers)
  • 7.Bemsha Swing - (with Thelonious Monk)
  • 8.Bohemia After Dark - (with Cannonball Adderley Quintet)

Product Description:

Contains a bonus disc featuring tracks from other Riverside artists.
Personnel: Thelonious Monk (piano, celesta); Thelonious Monk; John Coltrane, Johnny Griffin, Sonny Rollins (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ernie Henry, Gigi Gryce, Phil Woods (alto saxophone); Coleman Hawkins, Charlie Rouse (tenor saxophone); Pepper Adams (baritone saxophone); Donald Byrd, Ray Copeland (trumpet); Robert "Brother Ah" Northern (French horn); Eddie Bert (trombone); Jay McAllister (tuba); Kenny Clarke, Roy Haynes, Art Taylor, Shadow Wilson (drums); Max Roach, Art Blakey (drums); Cannonball Adderley & His Quartet.
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Liner Note Author: Doug Ramsey.
Recording information: Five Spot Cafe, New York, NY (07/21/1955-10/21/1959); Reeves Studio Sound Studios, New York, NY (07/21/1955-10/21/1959); San Francisco, CA (07/21/1955-10/21/1959); Town Hall, New York, NY (07/21/1955-10/21/1959); Van Gelder Studios, Hackensack, NJ (07/21/1955-10/21/1959).
Photographer: Jan Persson.
Decades after his death, jazz pianist Thelonious Monk remains a unique and fascinating figure. An early proponent of bebop, Monk would never employ a torrent of notes when only a few would suffice--while some pianists worked overtime to dazzle listeners, Monk was content to let judicious "silences" speak volumes. His mid-1950s recordings for New York's Riverside label, following his run with Prestige, are sampled here--his most beloved compositions ("'Round Midnight," "Ruby, My Dear") present the man unaccompanied and with all-star groups (featuring, among others, Sonny Rollins, John Coltrane, and Art Blakey).

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Thelonious Monk

Product Info

  • UPC: 888072300705
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)