Charles Mingus Debut Rarities, Volume 4

Debut Rarities, Volume 4
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HK73
on most orders of $35+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: OJC


  • Buy for $0.991.Portrait - (take 1)
  • Buy for $0.992.Portrait - (take 2)
  • Buy for $0.993.I've Lost My Love - (take 1)
  • Buy for $0.994.I've Lost My Love - (take 2)
  • Buy for $0.995.Extrasensory Perception
  • Buy for $0.996.Extrasensory Perception - (alternate take)
  • Buy for $0.997.Precognition
  • Buy for $0.998.Make Believe
  • Buy for $0.999.Paris In Blue
  • Buy for $0.9910.Montage
  • Buy for $0.9911.You Go To My Head (Medley)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Can You Blame Me
  • Buy for $0.9913.You And Me
  • Buy for $0.9914.Bebopper
  • Buy for $0.9915.Cupid

Product Description:

DEBUT RARITIES VOL. 4 consists of 15 tracks previously released on the Charles Mingus: The Complete Debut Recordings 12 CD boxed set.
Personnel: Charles Mingus (bass); Jackie Paris, Bob Benton, Honey Gordon, Richard Gordon, George Gordon, George Gordon, Jr (vocals); Paige Brook (alto saxophone, flute); Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); George Koutzen, Jackson Wiley (cello); Phyllis Pinkerton, Hank Jones, John Mehegan (piano); Al Levitt, Max Roach (drums).
Recorded in New York, New York on April 12 & September 16, 1952 and April 29, 1953. Includes liner notes by Ira Gitler.
Digitally remastered by Kirk Felton (1994, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
This is part of the Limited Edition Original Jazz Classics Series.
Personnel: George Gordon, Richard Gordon, Honey Gordon, Jackie Paris, Bob Benton (vocals); George Koutzen, Jackson Wiley (cello); Paige Brook (flute, alto saxophone); Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); Hank Jones , Phyllis Pinkerton, John Mehegan (piano); Al Levitt, Max Roach (drums).
Liner Note Author: Ira Gitler.
Recording information: New York, NY (04/12/1952/09/12/1952).
Unknown Contributor Roles: George Koutzen; Jackson Wiley; Hank Jones ; Phyllis Pinkerton; Paige Brook; Al Levitt; The Gordons ; John Mehegan; Lee Konitz; Max Roach.
This volume of Mingus material brings together three sessions from 1952 and 1953, all of which emphasize vocal material. The first set of arrangements leans towards a cooler side of Mingus, with careful brushwork from Al Levitt, airy alto lines from Lee Konitz, and the inclusion of a cellist. Max Roach handles the drums on the second session. While there is no record of how the musicians felt about working with lyrics like "If you make believe with all the fine chicks/Then you're sure to get some crazy way-out kicks," presumably everyone was more enthused about "Paris in Blue," which features a relaxed and spare Jackie Paris vocal in a more distinctly Mingus-like setting. The third session runs straight down the middle, 1950s-style, neither overly cool nor anywhere near avant. Honey Gordon holds forth in a husky, Sarah Vaughan-influenced alto. She is joined by the rest of her singing family on "You and Me" and "Bebopper," a de rigeur vocal tribute to jazz hipster style.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Charles Mingus

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218182928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)