Glenn Miller Chesterfield Broadcasts (2-CD)

Chesterfield Broadcasts (2-CD)
6 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HK4K
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: RCA

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Introduction
  • Buy for $0.992.Oh Johnny, Oh Johnny, Oh!
  • Buy for $0.993.I've Got No Strings
  • Buy for $0.994.Begin the Beguine
  • Buy for $0.995.Indian Summer
  • Buy for $0.996.Chico's Love Song
  • Buy for $0.997.Bei Mir Bist du Schon
  • Buy for $0.998.Beer Barrel Polka
  • Buy for $1.299.In the Mood
  • Buy for $0.9910.I Love You Much Too Much
  • Buy for $0.9911.The Donkey Serenade
  • Buy for $0.9912.Tuxedo Junction
  • Buy for $0.9913.Say "Si Si"
  • Buy for $0.9914.The Rumba Jumps!
  • Buy for $0.9915.Hold Tight-Hold Tight
  • Buy for $0.9916.Yodelin' Jive
  • Buy for $0.9917.One O'Clock Jump
  • Buy for $0.9918.Closing Announcements

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Introduction
  • Buy for $0.992.The Little Red Fox
  • Buy for $0.993.Ciribiribin
  • Buy for $0.994.South of the Border
  • Buy for $0.995.It's a Blue World
  • Buy for $0.996.The Woodpecker Song
  • Buy for $0.997.Well, All Right!
  • Buy for $0.998.South American Way
  • Buy for $0.999.Little Brown Jug
  • Buy for $0.9910.Little Sally Waters
  • Buy for $0.9911.I Want My Mama
  • Buy for $0.9912.Three O'Clock in the Morning
  • Buy for $0.9913.Sweet Potato Piper
  • Buy for $0.9914.O-Hi-O (O-My!-O!), (Down by the)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Let's Have Another One
  • Buy for $0.9916.Joseph! Joseph!
  • Buy for $0.9917.Runnin' Wild
  • Buy for $0.9918.Run, Rabbit, Run!
  • Buy for $0.9919.Do I Love You?
  • Buy for $0.9920.Farewell Blues
  • Buy for $0.9921.Closing Announcements

Product Description:

Personnel: Glenn Miller (spoken vocals, trombone); The Andrews Sisters, Ray Eberle, Marion Hutton, Tex Beneke (vocals); Vincent J. Abato, Ernesto Caceres (alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, clarinet); Harold W. McIntyre, Wilbur Schwartz (alto saxophone, clarinet); Albert A. Klink (tenor saxophone, bass clarinet); Clyde Hurley, Legh Knowles, Reginald McMickle, John McClanian Best, Jr. (trumpet); Paul Tanner, Alex Mastandrea, Frank J. D'Annolfo, Thomas Mack, Howard Gibeling, James Priddy (trombone); John C. MacGregor (piano); Richard Fisher (guitar); Rowland Bundock (bass); Maurice Purtill (drums).
Recorded between 1939 & 1940. Includes liner notes by Edward F. Polic.
Personnel: Glenn Miller (trombone); Gordon L. Beneke (vocals, clarinet, tenor saxophone); LaVerne Andrews, Raymond G. Eberle, Marion Hutton, Maxene Andrews, Patty Andrews (vocals); Richard Fisher (guitar); Ernie Caceres (clarinet, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Hal McIntyre, Wilbur Schwartz (clarinet, alto saxophone); Al Klink (bass clarinet, tenor saxophone); Clyde L. Hurley Jr., R.D. McMickle, John McClanian Best Jr. (trumpet); Alex Mastandrea, Frank D'Annolfo, Howard Gibeling, Paul Tanner (trombone); John C. MacGregor (piano).
Audio Remasterer: Jay Newland.
Liner Note Authors: Edward F. Polic; John Snyder.
Recording information: New York, NY (12/1939-03/1940).
Photographer: Edward F. Polic.
Arrangers: Jerry Gray; Bill Finegan.
Although Glenn Miller & His Orchestra get first billing on this two-CD set, 25 of the 35 selections are features for the Andrews Sisters. The music is taken from the earliest Glenn Miller Chesterfield Broadcasts, shows that had the always-cheerful Andrews Sisters as the regular guests. After March 1940, it was decided that Miller (whose band had become the most popular in the country) was too much of a big name to have to share his show with anyone. But before that happened, Miller's band often accompanied the Andrews Sisters, who are heard in prime form on such numbers as "Begin the Beguine," "Bei Mir Bust Du Schon," "Beer Barrel Polka," "Say 'Si Si,'" and "South of the Border." Of the ten Miller songs, four have vocals by Ray Eberle, Tex Beneke, and/or Marion Hutton, with the only instrumentals being "In the Mood," "Tuxedo Junction," "One O'Clock Jump," "Little Brown Jug," "Runnin' Wild," and "Farewell Blues." Clyde Hurley has some hot trumpet solos along the way, but this set is primarily recommended to fans of the Andrews Sisters. ~ Scott Yanow
Spotlight on Jazz Sale

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Glenn Miller

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 92,890
  • UPC: 828765430623
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)