Marian McPartland On 52nd Street

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
On 52nd Street
72% OFF
Rating 5.0
7 ratings
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $13 (72% Off)
Rare & Hard-to-Find: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  ZSVY 17069

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 1, 2005
  • Label: Savoy Jazz


  • 1.A Foggy Day
  • 2.The Lady Is a Tramp
  • 3.I've Got the World on a String
  • 4.Manhattan
  • 5.Aunt Hagar's Blues
  • 6.Four Brothers
  • 7.Once in a While
  • 8.Just Squeeze Me (But Don't Tease Me)
  • 9.Liza (All the Clouds'll Roll Away)
  • 10.September Song
  • 11.Embraceable You
  • 12.Laura
  • 13.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 14.There Will Never Be Another You
  • 15.Willow Weep for Me
  • 16.A Fine Romance
  • 17.Lullaby in Rhythm

Product Description:

& Her Hickory House Trio.
Personnel: Marian McPartland (piano); Bob Carter, Vinnie Burke (bass); Joe Morello (drums).
Recorded in New York, New York on April 27, 1953 and live at the Hickory House, New York, New York in October 1953. Includes liner notes by Bob Blumenthal and Orrin Keepnews.
This album consists primarily of performances recorded at the Hickory House Club in October 1953, with a trio consisting of bassist Vinnie Burke and the great drummer Joe Morello, who never achieved the fame he deserved, but did make a name for himself in Dave Brubeck's group. At the end of this program are five studio recordings made earlier that same year, with Morello and bassist Bob Carter. McPartland's style is witty and elegant, and if her solos never exactly catch fire, they never settle for mere decorousness either. She plays with plenty of energy, and her inventiveness is consistently impressive. The program is unsurprising, consisting mainly of such standards as "I've Got the World on a String," "A Foggy Day," and "Willow Weep for Me," but the material never sounds tired. The sound quality is, surprisingly, quite good. Research in the Savoy archives has revealed that these recordings were produced by a then very young Rudy Van Gelder, who would later become one of the great jazz producers of the century. ~ Rick Anderson
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Marian McPartland

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 26,729
  • UPC: 795041706928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Jazz genre: