Marian McPartland Plays the Benny Carter Songbook

Plays the Benny Carter Songbook
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COJ 44122
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: Concord Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly
Rating: A-
Down Beat
4 Stars - Very Good


  • Buy for $0.991.When Lights Are Low
  • Buy for $0.992.I'm in the Mood For Swing
  • Buy for $0.993.A Kiss From You
  • Buy for $0.994.Key Largo
  • Buy for $0.995.Another Time, Another Place
  • Buy for $0.996.Summer Serenade
  • Buy for $0.997.Doozy
  • Buy for $0.998.Lonely Woman
  • 9.Only Trust Your Heart
  • Buy for $0.9910.Evening Star
  • Buy for $0.9911.Easy Money

Product Description:

Personnel: Marian McPartland (piano), Benny Carter (alto saxophone), John Clayton (bass), Harold Jones (drums).
Tributee: Benny Carter .
Two aspects uplift this Marian McPartland CD above most songbooks. Benny Carter is much better-known as an altoist and an arranger than as a composer, so his compositions tend to be quite fresh since they have been underplayed through the years. Also, the fact that Carter himself performs on the majority of these selections (which also include bassist John Clayton and drummer Harold Jones) makes the set something special. Highlights include "When Lights Are Low," "I'm in the Mood for Swing," "Key Largo," "Doozy," "Lonely Woman" and "Only Trust Your Heart," but all 11 songs are enjoyable and swinging. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Marian McPartland

Product Info

  • UPC: 013431441229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)