Marian McPartland Live at Maybeck Recital Hall, Volume 9

Live at Maybeck Recital Hall, Volume 9
10 ratings
Only 6 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YKA2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Concord Records


  • Buy for $0.991.This Time the Dream's on Me
  • Buy for $0.992.A Fine Romance
  • Buy for $0.993.Willow Weep for Me
  • Buy for $0.994.Twilight World
  • Buy for $0.995.Clothed Woman
  • Buy for $0.996.Prelude to a Kiss
  • Buy for $0.997.The Duke
  • Buy for $0.998.Theme from Piano Jazz
  • Buy for $0.999.Love You Madly
  • Buy for $0.9910.Easy Living
  • Buy for $0.9911.Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  • Buy for $0.9912.I Should Care
  • Buy for $0.9913.My Funny Valentine
  • Buy for $0.9914.Turnaround
  • Buy for $0.9915.It's You or No One
  • Buy for $0.9916.I'll Be Around

Product Description:

Personnel: Marian McPartland (piano).
Recorded live at Maybeck Recital Hall, Berkeley, California.
Personnel: Marian McPartland (piano).
Liner Note Author: Leslie Gourse.
Recording information: Maybeck Recital Hall, Berkeley, CA (01/20/1991).
Photographer: James Gudeman.
Marian McPartland has become a jazz legend over several decades and this captivating solo concert has something for everyone. Whether it's her jaunty opener "This Time the Dream's On Me," the deliberate somber take of "Willow Weep for Me," or her thunderous performance of her "Theme From Piano Jazz" (usually heard only as an incomplete snippet on her long-running NPR series), her chops are never in question. A highlight is Duke Ellington's "Clothed Woman," a piece rarely performed even by its composer. McPartland slowly unveils its shrouds, gliding through a maze of dramatic chords, joyous stride piano and repetitious vamps with a veteran's confidence (she played it with Ellington in the audience during her long run at the Hickory House in the 1950s). The CD closes with "I'll Be Around," a warm tribute to her good friend and the song's composer, the late Alec Wilder. It's a shame that this superb concert wasn't captured on video as well in order for the rest of us to catch her playfulness at the piano, her head thrown back with laughter, with her witty introductions to each piece (which are unfortunately edited out of the CD). This performance not only ranks with the best of the Maybeck solo series, but it should be considered as one of the best solo concerts ever to be released. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Marian McPartland

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,464
  • UPC: 013431446026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Jazz genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)