Pat Martino Desperado

7 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  J84F
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: OJC


  • 1.Blackjack
  • 2.Dearborn Walk
  • 3.Oleo
  • 4.Desperado
  • 5.A Portrait of Diana
  • 6.Express

Product Description:

Personnel: Pat Martino (12-string guitar); Eric Kloss (alto saxophone); Eddie Green (electric piano); Tyrone Brown (electric bass); Sherman Ferguson (drums).
Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on March 9, 1970. Originally released on Prestige (7795). Includes liner notes by Les Paul.
Personnel: Pat Martino (12-string guitar); Eric Kloss (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Eddie Green (electric piano); Tyrone Brown (electric bass); Sherman Ferguson (drums, bells).
Liner Note Author: Les Paul.
Recording information: Englewood Cliffs, NJ (03/09/1970); New York, NY (03/09/1970).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Bob Porter; Eddie Green ; Eric Kloss; Sherman Ferguson; Tyrone Brown.
Guitarist Pat Martino's first five recordings as a leader were made for the Prestige label, and this one (the fifth) has been reissued on CD by Original Jazz Classics. Martino performs Sonny Rollins' "Oleo" and five of his originals, using the 12-string guitar. The rhythm section (keyboardist Eddie Green, electric bassist Tyrone Brown, and drummer Sherman Ferguson) is funky in spots, electric, and swinging when called for. Eric Kloss makes a guest appearance on soprano for the opening "Blackjack," but otherwise, most of the focus is on Martino's consistently inventive playing. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Pat Martino

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218639729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)