Wynton Marsalis Jump Start and Jazz

Jump Start and Jazz
2 ratings
Price: $4.49
List Price: $4.98
You Save: $0.49 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  J83W
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Sony


  • Buy for $0.991.Jubilo (The Scent of Democracy)
  • Buy for $0.992.Tick-Tock (Nightfalls on Toyland)
  • Buy for $0.993.Trail of Tears (Across Death Ground)
  • Buy for $0.994.Express Crossing (Astride Iron Horses)
  • Buy for $0.995."D" in the Key of "F" (Now the Blues)
  • Buy for $0.996.Ragtime
  • Buy for $0.997.Fiddle Bow Real
  • Buy for $0.998.Boogie Woogie Stomp
  • Buy for $0.999.The Dance
  • Buy for $0.9910.Slow Drag
  • Buy for $0.9911.Habanera
  • Buy for $0.9912.March
  • Buy for $0.9913.Gagaku
  • Buy for $0.9914.The Spellcaster
  • Buy for $0.9915.Bebop
  • Buy for $0.9916.Root Groove
  • Buy for $0.9917.Jump

Product Description:

Personnel: Wynton Marsalis (conductor, trumpet); Robert Sadin (conductor); Wessel Anderson (sopranino & alto saxophones); Victor Goines (soprano, tenor & baritone saxophones, clarinet, bass clarinet); Todd Williams (soprano & tenor saxophones, clarinet); Ted Nash (soprano & tenor saxophones); Branford Marsalis (soprano saxophone); Gideon Feldstein (baritone saxophone, bass clarinet); Harry "Sweets" Edison, Marcus Printup, Ryan Kisor (trumpet); Wycliffe Gordon, Ronald Westray (trombone); Kent Jordan (piccolo, flute); Eric Reed (piano); Reginald Veal (acoustic bass); Ben Wolfe (bass); Herlin Riley (drums, percussion);
Recorded at RCA Studio A, New York, New York on January 23, 1993 and Paramount Stage M, Los Angeles, California on August 17 & 18, 1995. Includes liner notes by Tony Scherman.
Personnel: Wynton Marsalis (trumpet); Kent Jordan (flute, piccolo); Victor Goines (clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Todd Williams (clarinet, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Wessell Anderson (sopranino saxophone, alto saxophone); Ted Nash (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Branford Marsalis (soprano saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison , Marcus Printup (trumpet); Ron Westray, Wycliffe Gordon (trombone); Eric Reed (piano); Reginald Veal (upright bass); Herlin Riley (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixers: Brian Dixon; Patrick Smith .
Recording information: New York, NY (01/23/1993-08/18/1995); Paramount Stage M, L.A., CA (01/23/1993-08/18/1995).
Translators: Eva Reisinger; Genevieve Haines.
After several years of juggling dual careers as a symphonic trumpeter and a jazz bandleader, Wynton Marsalis began to combine the two in the '90s. Obviously influenced by '50s and '60s third stream music (a combination of classical and jazz exemplified by the work of composers such as Ran Blake) as well as the brilliant orchestral suites composed by the great Duke Ellington, "Jazz" and "Jump Start" are scores for two dance pieces choreographed by Peter Martins and Twyla Tharp. The suite-like "Jazz" recalls both 19th century program music and earlier jazz suites like Ellington's "Black, Brown and Beige." The ten disparate pieces of the more lighthearted and improvisational "Jump Start" are each based on a different rhythm, from the Japanese folk music of "Gagaku" to the Jelly Roll Morton-like "Slow Drag." Combined, the two scores demonstrate the remarkable advancement of Marsalis' compositional strengths.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Wynton Marsalis

Product Info

  • UPC: 074646299821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)