1 rating
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $9 (60% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  MIS 93292
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Milestone

Entertainment Reviews:

CMJ - 8/4/03, p.27
"...The two give each other plenty of room to solo and play unaccompanied, but they also have a nice cat-and-mouse dynamic..."


  • Buy for $0.991.I'll Remember April
  • Buy for $0.992.Sweet And Lovely
  • Buy for $0.993.Sequentialee
  • Buy for $0.994.If You Could See Me Now
  • Buy for $0.995.Cherokee
  • 6.Gundula
  • Buy for $0.997.Keepin' The News
  • Buy for $0.998.Easy Living
  • Buy for $0.999.317 East 32nd
  • Buy for $0.9910.Ex Temp
  • 11.Subconscious-Lee

Product Description:

Personnel: Lee Konitz (saxophone); Alan Broadbent (piano).
Recorded at The Jazz Bakery, Los Angeles, California on October 20-22, 2000.
Personnel: Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); Alan Broadbent (piano).
Audio Remixer: Phil Edwards .
Liner Note Authors: Alan Broadbent; Orrin Keepnews.
Recording information: Jazz Bakery, Los Angeles, CA (10/20/2000-10/22/2000).
Photographer: Steve Banks.
This intimate live program pairs two Lennie Tristano disciples: Lee Konitz, in his eighth decade and at the height of his powers, and the distinctive, calmly extraordinary pianist Alan Broadbent. The clarity and expressiveness of these performances from the Jazz Bakery in Los Angeles make it difficult to accept this was the duo's first time playing together. In working out how best to interact with Konitz, Broadbent found that less is more. Supporting Konitz with supple, swinging, spacious structures, he frees the saxophonist to create and explore. Liberated, Konitz gives himself over to the flow of his ideas and impulses, his sound and phrasing natural, unforced. Not that Broadbent is confined to the supporting role; he and Konitz each have considerable space for unaccompanied playing, joint extemporizing, and situations where the lead moves in subtle shifts between the two. In their transformations of familiar material, Konitz and Broadbent take a very non-bop approach to the discovery of new and unexpected patterns and points of view in repertoire conceived or extensively exploited by bop players. Their tactics pose intriguing possibilities for other pieces from the bop canon or for post-bop classics such as Miles Davis and Victor Feldman's "Joshua" or Sonny Rollins' "Blue 7." While Broadbent said it took a few sets for him and Konitz to get to know each other during their week-long run together, the luminous performances captured on this October 2000 recording suggest that any meeting between the two would be rewarding. Listeners who enjoy either of these masters will be hoping there is more where this came from. ~ Jim Todd

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Lee Konitz

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218932929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)