The Earl Klugh Trio, Volume 1

The Earl Klugh Trio, Volume 1
9 ratings
Price: $13.25
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.73 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YKK4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 30, 1991
  • Label: Warner Bros Mod Afw

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 1/92, p.34
3.5 Stars - Good Plus "..lush jazz standards, sambas, and appealing pop melodies...interplay and improvisation...this organic, easy-swinging trio (is) good news for guitar fans.."


  • 1.Bewitched
  • 2.Days Of Wine And Roses
  • 3.Insensatez (How Insensitive)
  • 4.Love Theme From "Spartacus"
  • 5.I'll Remember April
  • 6.What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life
  • 7.I Say A Little Prayer
  • 8.Night And Day
  • 9.Lonely Girl
  • 10.Too Marvelous For Words
  • 11.One Note Samba

Product Description:

Personnel: Earl Klugh (guitar), Ralph Armstrong (acoustic bass) and Gene Dunlap (drums).
A departure from the type of boring, innocuous elevator Muzak Earl Klugh is best known for, Earl Klugh Trio, Vol. 1 gives listeners a rare chance to hear the guitarist playing straight-ahead jazz. Some bebop musicians contend that playing dull background music year after year means you can kiss your bebop chops goodbye, but there's no evidence of that on this rewarding CD. With Klugh sticking to acoustic guitar and employing Ralph Armstrong on upright bass and Gene Dunlap on drums, someone who is best known for recording schlock offers tasteful and lyrical interpretations of such well known standards as "I'll Remember April," "Night and Day" and "One Note Samba." Klugh also excels on "Lonely Girl" (a beautiful but underexposed Neal Hefti piece) and pleasantly surprises by demonstrating that the theme from the '60s sitcom Bewitched and the Aretha Franklin hit "I Say a Little Prayer" (written by Burt Bacharach and Hal David) can work in an acoustic bebop setting. Undeniably, this is the best album Klugh ever recorded -- it's too bad it was a departure from his norm instead of a primary direction. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 96,777
  • UPC: 075992675024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)