The Moscow Sax Quintet The Jazznost Tour

The Jazznost Tour
2 ratings
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YKHV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Arkadia Jazz


  • Buy for $0.991.Yardbird Suite
  • Buy for $0.992.Intro
  • Buy for $0.993.Parker's Mood
  • Buy for $0.994.Four Brothers
  • Buy for $0.995.Waltz For Debby
  • Buy for $0.996.Donna Lee
  • Buy for $0.997.Intro
  • Buy for $0.998.Your Eyes
  • Buy for $0.999.I Got Rhythm
  • Buy for $0.9910.Michelle
  • Buy for $0.9911.Crazy Rhythm
  • Buy for $0.9912.Sabre Dance
  • Buy for $0.9913.Chasing the Bird
  • Buy for $0.9914.Smashing Thirds
  • Buy for $0.9915.Bloom-di-Do
  • Buy for $0.9916.Talk / Sign-Off

Product Description:

Call this group Supersax East, a quintet of Russian jazz saxophonists who wowed the 1990 International Association of Jazz Educators convention in New Orleans and were recorded at Northeastern Illnois University in Chicago on the last stop of their U.S. visit. Seven years later, the concert finally came out on the fledgling Arkadia label, and it proves that this Slavic sax section has vigor, fire and enough technique to pull off their demanding charts in brilliant style before a live audience. The concept, selection of tunes, and dense harmonies of bop tracks like "Four Brothers," "Yardbird Suite," and "Donna Lee" are right out of the Supersax playbook, except that there is no solo trumpet foil to offset the wild, massive flights of reeds. They are also capable of lovely a cappella work on "Smashing Thirds" and "Waltz for Debby," introducing clarinets and flute into the mixture, and doing a circus-y slapstick turn on Khachaturian's "Sabre Dance" at the requisite breakneck speed. While this sort of thing has been done before, the Moscow Sax Quintet plays with a panache and excitement that makes it seem fresh again. ~ Richard S. Ginell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Moscow Sax Quintet

Product Info

  • UPC: 602267116120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)