Rahsaan Roland Kirk Rip Rig and Panic / Now Please Don't You Cry Beautiful Edith

Rip Rig and Panic / Now Please Don't You Cry
6 ratings
Price: $16.19
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EJ3S
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $0.691.No Tonic Press
  • Buy for $0.992.Once In A While
  • Buy for $0.993.From Bechet, Byas, And Fats
  • Buy for $0.994.Mystical Dreams
  • Buy for $0.995.Rip, Rig And Panic
  • Buy for $0.996.Black Diamonds
  • Buy for $0.997.Slippery, Hippery, Flippery
  • Buy for $0.998.Blue Rol
  • Buy for $0.999.Alfie
  • Buy for $0.9910.Why Don't They Know
  • Buy for $0.9911.Silverization
  • Buy for $0.9912.Fallout
  • Buy for $0.9913.Now Please Don't You Cry, Beautiful Edith
  • Buy for $0.9914.Stompin' Grounds
  • Buy for $0.9915.It's A Grand Night For Swinging

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD, the full titles are "Rip Rig And Panic" and "Now Please Don't You Cry, Beautiful Edith".
If you're looking for a one-disc, non-compilation introduction to the genius of multi-instrumentalist Roland Kirk (he added the Rahsaan in 1969), look no further. Combining two classic albums from 1965 and 1967, this disc captures Kirk at two of his highest creative peaks. Backed by the all-star trio of pianist Jaki Byard, bassist Richard Davis, and drummer Elvin Jones, Kirk graces RIP RIG AND PANIC with some of his wildest and most free playing. Standout performances include the title track, "Slippery Hippery Flippery," the opening "No Tonic Pres," and the more subdued and traditional "From Bechet, Fats and Byas." NOW PLEASE DON'T YOU CRY BEAUTIFUL EDITH, Kirk's only recording for the legendary Verve label, is a considerably calmer affair but is no less wide-ranging, as it swings effortlessly from a gentle cover of Bacharach-David's "Alfie," to the impressionistic title track, to the flat-out rock & roll of "Fallout."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Rahsaan Roland Kirk

Product Info

  • UPC: 042283216426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)