Edith Piaf Mon Legionnaire

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $13.98
Your Price: $12.58
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  AKCH 75106

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Arkadia Chansons


  • 1.Mon Legionnaire
  • 2.C'Est Lui que Mon Coeur a Choisi
  • 3.Je N'en Connais Pas la Fin
  • 4.Elle Frequentait la Rue Pigalle
  • 5.On Danse Sur Ma Chanson
  • 6.Entre Saint-Ouen et Clignancourt
  • 7.Dans un Bouge de Vieux Port
  • 8.La Fanion de la Legion
  • 9.Mon Coeur est au Coin de la Rue
  • 10.Correqu et Reguyer
  • 11.Un Jeune Homme Chantait
  • 12.C'Est Toi le Plus Fort
  • 13.Tout Fout L'Camp
  • 14.Le Chacal
  • 15.J'Entends la Sirene
  • 16.Les Marins, Ca Fait des Voyages
  • 17.Madeleine Qu' Avait du Coeur
  • 18.Le Voyage du Pauvre Negre

Product Description:

The most revered and celebrated French singer of the 20th century, Edith Piaf was only 20 when she first recorded for Polydor's French division in 1936. But even on her early recordings, Piaf sang with the wisdom, maturity and depth of a seasoned veteran artist -- a fact that's hard to miss on Mon Legionnaire. Spanning 1937-1940, this superb CD focuses on Piaf's early work and boasts many of the gems that put her on the map in France, including "Je N'en Connais Pas La Fin," "J'entends La Sirene," "Le Chacal" and the title song. Though Piaf was never a jazz singer, some of the orchestral arrangements are influenced by the American big-band swing of the 1930s, as well as American sweet bands (whose focus was pop with jazz overtones). The sound quality isn't ideal -- one wishes that Arkadia's digital remastering had filtered out more of the noise and that classics like "C'est Lui Que Mon Couer A Choisi" and "Le Voyage Du Pauvre Negre" could be heard without so many pops, crackles and clicks. Even so, the richness of the music comes through loud and clear. Mon Legionnaire is a CD to savor. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Edith Piaf

Product Info:

  • UPC: 602267510621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item