Stan Kenton Easy Go: The 1950-1952 Jazz Band

Easy Go: The 1950-1952 Jazz Band
7 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SG8J
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 22, 2001
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Easy Go
  • 2.Love For Sale
  • 3.Viva Prado
  • 4.Something New (Sunset Tower)
  • 5.Theme For Alto
  • 6.Riff Rhapsody
  • 7.Dynaflow
  • 8.What's New
  • 9.Jump For Joe
  • 10.Night Watch
  • 11.Francesca
  • 12.Soliloquy
  • 13.Lazy Daisy
  • 14.Mambo Rhapsody
  • 15.Riff Raff
  • 16.Star Dust
  • 17.Bags And Baggage
  • 18.Bill's Blues
  • 19.Cool Eyes
  • 20.Beehive

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Stan Kenton (piano); Bud Shank, Art Pepper (alto saxophone); Bob Cooper, Jimmy Giuffre (tenor saxophone); Bob Gioga (baritone saxophone); Maynard Ferguson, Shorty Rogers, Pete Candoli, Conte Candoli (trumpet); Milt Bernhart, Harry Betts (trombone); John Hallibruton (bass trombone); Laurindo Almeida, Ralph Blaze (guitar); Don Bagley (bass); Shelly Manne, Frank Capp (drums).
Producer: Lee Gillette.
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded at Capitol Studios, Los Angeles, California between August 1950 and March 1952. Includes liner notes by Michael Sparke.
Digitally remastered by Ron McMaster.
Personnel: Stan Kenton (piano); Ralph Blaze, Laurindo Almeida (guitar); Dick Meldonian, Herbie Steward, Lennie Niehaus, Art Pepper, Bud Shank (alto saxophone); Bart Caldarell, Lee Elliott, Bill Holman (tenor saxophone); Bob Gioga (baritone saxophone); Clyde Reasinger, Conte Candoli, Don Dennis, Ruban McFall, John Howell , Jack Millman, Al Procino, Jimmy Salko, Pete Candoli, Ray Wetzel, Shorty Rogers, Buddy Childers (trumpet); John Graas (French horn); Milt Bernhart, Bob Fitzpatrick, Gerald Finch, Dick Kenney, Eddie Bert, Harold Branch, Harry Betts, Herbie Harper, Bill Russo (trombone); Paul Weigand, George Roberts , Johnny Halliburton (bass trombone); Frank Capp, Shelly Manne (drums); Eddie Gomez (maracas); Mike Pacheco (timbales).
Recording information: Capitol Studios, L.A., CA (08/21/1950-03/20/1952).
Arrangers: Gene Roland; Johnny Richards ; Pete Rugolo; Shorty Rogers; Stan Kenton; Bill Russo.
In the early 1950s, Stan Kenton had run a sizable deficit with his experimental Innovations Orchestra, plus he owed the Internal Revenue Service back taxes, so he needed an infusion of cash rather quickly. He chose to keep the dance band core of his group and entered the ballroom circuit, while also focusing on making more commercial records. But the period (1950-1952) covered in this compilation hardly represents an artistic compromise, as the charts produced by Kenton, Shorty Rogers, Pete Rugolo, Gene Roland, Johnny Richards, and Bill Russo have stood the test of the time, complemented by several outstanding soloists, including Art Pepper, Bud Shank, Maynard Ferguson, Conte Candoli, Bob Cooper, and Bill Holman. None of the tracks run much over three minutes, but the concise nature of the charts works in Kenton's favor. Stan Kenton's work has often been criticized as bombastic, but this is a truly swinging CD. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Stan Kenton

Product Info

  • UPC: 724352455324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)