The New Mixes, Volume 1: Quincy Jones and Bill Cosby

The New Mixes, Volume 1: Quincy Jones and Bill
4 ratings
Only 6 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  34Q3S
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 13, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Concord Records


  • 1.Along Came Mister Nobody
  • 2.Jimmy's Theme
  • 3.Pelando
  • 4.Matthew Herbert's Techically Amateur Mix
  • 5.Ev'ryday
  • 6.Vaeurs Personelles
  • 7.United
  • 8.Glimmer
  • 9.Where's Eddie?
  • 10.Jamon Y Queso
  • 11.Miss Leslie
  • 12.Highland Street Hustle
  • 13.Hikky Burr - (remix)
  • 14.Hikky-Burr

Product Description:

Personnel: Bill Cosby (vocals); Joy Askew (vocals, wah-wah guitar, organ); Alex Stiff (guitar, shaker); Arthur Adams , Koool G Murder (guitar); Claude Chalhoub (violin); Tom Hronick (saxophone); Takuya Nakamura (piano); Marc Cazorla (Fender Rhodes piano, Moog synthesizer, tambourine); Joe Sample (Fender Rhodes piano); Neal Evans (organ, keyboard bass); Harry Siblini (keyboards); Paul Humphrey & the Cool Aid Chemists (drums); Sean Coolican (pans); Said M'Rad (percussion, programming); Eric Bobo (percussion); Eric Krasno (programming).
Audio Mixers: Marc Cazorla; Eduardo Larez; Thomas Foyer; Alex Stiff; Maurice Tawile; John Digweed; Mario Caldato, Jr.; Nick Muir; Ari Raskin; Said M'Rad.
Liner Note Author: Marc Cazorla.
Recording information: Gozadera Studios; Sassi P Studios; Tu Casa Studios; Wood And Fingers.
Photographer: Danielle Brancazio.
The remix collection that complements Original Jam Sessions 1969 has a handful of stunners, with the rest of the tracks being groovy enough, if only because of Bill Cosby and Quincy Jones' original recordings. Herbert mucks everything up on his track, making Quincy's band sound both death metal and amusement-park carousel. Cornershop relate the wacka-wacka guitar to the sitar in their mix, while Bedrock and Said Mrad both take the deep and creeping noir route with great results. Mix Master Mike and Cosby's rap on "Hikky-Burr" sound like a match made in funk heaven, but the turntable master doesn't do much more than scratch over the original track. Everything else is more pleasing than memorable, with few of the remixers willing to really mess with master Quincy's groove. One has to wonder if Concord would've been better off calling on more hip-hop talent. Maybe they would've gone deeper into the funk, but these light-touch and bright remixes make for an enjoyable afternoon poolside if Thievery Corporation and their ilk are your thing. ~ David Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Quincy Jones

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 59,788
  • UPC: 013431226222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)