Quincy Jones Swiss Radio Days Jazz Series, Volume 1: Lausanne 1960 (Live)

Swiss Radio Days Jazz Series, Volume 1: Lausanne
1 rating
Price: $15.29
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EJ32
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 27, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Tcb Music


  • 1.Cherokee
  • 2.Cherokee
  • 3.Chinese Checkers
  • 4.Chinese Checkers
  • 5.Birth of a Band
  • 6.Birth of a Band
  • 7.I Remember Clifford
  • 8.I Remember Clifford
  • 9.Ghana
  • 10.Ghana
  • 11.Big Red
  • 12.Big Red
  • 13.My Reverie
  • 14.My Reverie - (Encore)
  • 15.Parisian Thoroughfare
  • 16.Parisian Thoroughfare
  • 17.Moanin
  • 18.Moanin
  • 19.Soul
  • 20.Soul
  • 21.The Midnight Sun Will Never
  • 22.The Midnight Sun Will Never
  • 23.The Phantoms Blues
  • 24.The Phantoms Blues
  • 25.Air Mail Special
  • 26.Air Mail Special
  • 27.Air Mail Special

Product Description:

This is part of TCB's Swiss Radio Days Jazz Series.
Quincy Jones: Quincy Jones; Les Spann (flute); Harold McNair, Porter Kilbert, Jerome Richardson, Phil Woods, Sahib Shihab (saxophone); Clyde Reasinger, Floyd Standifer, Roger Guerin , Benny Bailey (trumpet); Julius Watkins (French horn); Jimmy Cleveland, Ake Persson, Melba Liston, Quentin Jackson (trombone); Patti Bown (piano); Buddy Catlett (bass guitar); Joe Harris (drums).
Quincy Jones led one of his finest orchestras in 1960. This spirited material is taken from a live concert (and radio broadcast) from Switerland. With such soloists as trumpeter Benny Bailey, trombonist Jimmy Cleveland, altoist Phil Woods, Jerome Richardson on tenor, and baritonist Sahib Shihab (among others), the repertoire mostly sticks to bebop. Surprisingly enough, not all of the arrangements heard on the CD are Jones'; there are also swinging charts from Ernie Wilkins, Billy Byers, Melba Liston, Phil Woods, and Al Cohn. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Quincy Jones

Product Info

  • UPC: 723721925826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)