Stryper 7: The Best of Stryper

7: The Best of Stryper
10% OFF
Rating 4.4
43 ratings
Only 6 copies left
List Price: $9.98
Your Price: $8.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  HWD 162391
on most orders of $75
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 25, 2003
  • Label: Hollywood Records


  • 1.Something - (previously unreleased)
  • 2.For You - (previously unreleased)
  • 3.Shining Star
  • 4.Lady
  • 5.All for One
  • 6.In God We Trust
  • 7.Always There for You
  • 8.To Hell With the Devil
  • 9.Calling On You
  • 10.Free
  • 11.Honesty
  • 12.The Way
  • 13.Soldiers Under Command
  • 14.Makes Me Wanna Sing
  • 15.Reach Out
  • 16.From Wrong to Right
  • 17.Loving You
  • 18.Believe

Product Description:

Stryper: Michael Sweet (vocals, guitar); Oz Fox (guitar, background vocals); Tim Gaines (keyboards, bass, background vocals); Robert Sweet (drums).
Compilation producers: Michael Sweet, Kenny Lewis.
Recorded between 1984 & 2003. Includes liner notes by Michael Sweet.
Personnel: Michael Sweet, Oz Fox (vocals, guitar); Robert Sweet (drums); Kenny Lewis (programming); Jackson Marques (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Dan Nebenzal; Kenny Lewis; Michael Lloyd ; Michael Sweet; Paul Lani; Stryper; Carl Beatty; Carmine Rubino.
Recording information: Sound Station 7, Providence, RI.
Throughout rock history, all great bands spawn quite a bit of similar-sounding offspring -- and the mighty Van Halen were no different. Throughout the '80s, a plethora of VH disciples appeared on the scene -- many of which happened to also hail from the same locale, Hollywood. Musically, Stryper were quite similar to the Van Halen boys, but vocally, singer Michael Sweet was more a kin to Styx's Dennis DeYoung. The pairing of both styles won Stryper a large following, and for a stretch of several years, scored several MTV hits, all of which are neatly compiled on 2003's 7: The Best of Stryper. While Stryper's lyrical message did not reflect either the party-hearty (M”tley Cr?e) or the "demonic" (W.A.S.P.) bands of the era, they were cut from the same musical cloth. As a result, Stryper were known primarily as a rock band ("Soldiers Under Command," "Free," etc.), even though they also specialized in schmaltzy power ballads ("Honestly," "Lady," etc.). Also, there was the odd moment when both styles merged, such as "Calling On You," and Stryper get credit for the unlikeliest cover tune for a pop-metal band -- Earth, Wind & Fire's "Shining Star" (perhaps only outdone by the Bulletboys tackling Tom Waits' "Hang On St. Christopher"). With all the expected favorites included here, the 18-track 7: The Best of Stryper is a much better Stryper compilation than 1991's paltry Can't Stop the Rock. ~ Greg Prato

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 43 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Stryper

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 108,790
  • UPC: 720616239129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item