J.J. Johnson Vivian

Rating 4.8
4 ratings
List Price: $18.98
Your Price: $17.99
You Save: 99¢ (5% Off)
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  34KX8
on most orders of $35
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Concord Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - Jan.-Feb./93, p.69
"...This collection of standards, mostly ballads, is saturated with the warmth, humanity and wisdom of one of the great jazz soloists..."


  • 1.Alone Together
  • 2.Frankie And Johnnie
  • 3.I Thought About You
  • 4.I Love You
  • 5.What's New
  • 6.How Deep Is The Ocean
  • 7.But Not For Me
  • 8.There Will Never Be Another You
  • 9.Azure-Te
  • 10.You Don't Know What Love Is

Product Description:

Personnel: J.J. Johnson (trombone), Rob Schneiderman (piano), Ted Dunbar (guitar), Rufus Reid (bass), Akira Tana (drums).
The great trombonist J.J. Johnson sticks exclusively to ballads on this ten-song set. Accompanied by pianist Rob Schneiderman, guitarist Ted Dunbar, bassist Rufus Reid and drummer Akira Tana, Johnson's tone sounds at its warmest throughout the CD, which is dedicated to his late wife. Highlights include "Alone Together," "I Thought About You," "How Deep Is the Ocean" and "There Will Never Be Another You," but all of the numbers are rewarding. Due to the lack of variety in tempos and moods, this set is not quite definitive, but collectors will find much to enjoy. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for J.J. Johnson

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 120,205
  • UPC: 013431452324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm