Soledad Brothers Steal Your Soul and Dare Your Spirit to Move

Steal Your Soul and Dare Your Spirit to Move
8 ratings
Price: $19.03
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YQ2S
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 19, 2002
  • Label: Estrus Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 7/02, p.100
"...This will definitely float the boat of any lingering Flamin' Groovies fans out there..."
NME (Magazine) - 4/13/02, p.30
8 out of 10 - "...Detroit's Soledad Brothers...preach the blues gospel from the wrong side of the tracks..."


  • 1.Prince Among Thieves
  • 2.Prodical Stones Blues
  • 3.This Guitar Says I'm Sorry
  • 4.Break 'Em on Down - (Good Friday The 13th: Part I)
  • 5.Nation's Bell
  • 6.Hammer Me Down
  • 7.Michigan Line (Hats off to R.L.) - (Good Friday The 13th The Part II)
  • 8..32 Blues
  • 9.Ray of Love
  • 10.Skidmore Blues
  • 11.Miracle Birth
  • 12.There's No Sunshine When She's Gone
  • 13.Good Friday the 13th, Pt. 3 - (The 13th: Part III)

Product Description:

The Soledad Brothers: Johnny Walker (vocals, guitar, harmonica, bass drum); Oliver Henry (vocals, guitar, saxophone, piano); Ben Swank (drums).
Additional personnel: Jesse (penny whistle, tambourine); "Diamond" Dan Alaire (tom-toms); Ruben Glazer (percussion, background vocals).
Personnel: Oliver Henry (vocals, guitar, flute, saxophone, piano, organ, Wurlitzer organ, background vocals); Ben Swank (drums, bass drum); "Diamond" Dan Alaire (snare drum, tom tom); Patrick Pantano (percussion).
Recording information: 3rd Man Studios (2001); Ghetto Recorders (2001); The Covington Lodge (2001).
It has been the goal of countless bands to re-awaken the energy of Exile on Main Street-era Rolling Stones into some workable modern sound. Many have tried, but only a few have come close. Detroit's punk-blues upstarts Soledad Brothers have made a brisk career of just such imitation and prove that imitation is itself the sincerest form of irony. On Steal Your Soul and Dare Your Spirit to Move they make no apologies of their fascination with both British and American blues-rock, and imbue all the lifted riffs and self-serving sexual swagger with enough drunken abandon and reckless energy to almost convince you that they are picking up where the Stones themselves left off. The aptly named "Prodigal Stones Blues" cops the signature Stones riffs and tone of the period, and singer Johnny Walker even intones Mick Jagger's vocal quirks. On their own ."32 Blues," where Walker belts oaths and shout-outs overtop fuzzy guitar and greasy saxophone, you are almost convinced that these guys are the real thing. A take on "R.L. Burnside's Michigan Line" reveals the group's more reckless side. He sings: "I was raised in a trailer down by the tracks/Where I would lay and listen to the clackety-clack/That's where I got that hard-drivin' Soledad beat" on his confessional piece "Miracle Birth." Whether that is true or just a bunch of sycophantic blues imagery hardly matters. When Walker sings it, he believes it, and that just may be enough. ~ John Duffy

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 2.9
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 745058128923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)