Willis Jackson After Hours

After Hours
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HFAA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: October 26, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.Secret Love
  • 2.When My Dreamboat Comes Home
  • 3.She's My Love
  • 4.After Hours
  • 5.What Will I Tell My Heart
  • 6.Song of Ossanha
  • 7.Sunny
  • 8.Girl Talk
  • 9.Ode to Billie Joe
  • 10.Sometimes I'm Happy
  • 11.Soul Grabber
  • 12.Rhode Island Red
  • 13.Alfie
  • 14.I Dig Rock and Roll Music
  • 15.These Blues Are Made for Walking

Product Description:

2 LP's On 1 CD: LOOSE (1963) / SOUL GRABBER (1967)
Personnel: Willis "Gator" Jackson (tenor saxophone, horns); Willis "Gator" Jackson; Bill Jones (guitar); Lawrence Wright (drums); Wally Richardson, Lloyd Davis (guitar); Haywood Henry (baritone saxophone); Dud Bascomb, Frank Robinson, Sammy Lowe (trumpet); Joe Hadrick (drums); Lawrence Wright, Bob Bushnell, Bill Jones , Carl Wilson .
Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
Liner Note Authors: Chris Albertson; David Himmelstein.
Recording information: Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (03/26/1963-10/25/1967).
Photographers: Don Schlitten; Esmond Edwards.
Like Arnett Cobb, Willis "Gator" Jackson was a hard-blowing tenor saxophonist who had no problem making the transition from the honker school of the '40s and early '50s to the soul-jazz and organ combos of the late '50s and '60s. The '60s, in fact, were an extremely productive time for Jackson, who recorded for Prestige throughout that decade and got into the studio often. A 79-minute CD that Fantasy assembled in 2004, After Hours offers two of Jackson's '60s LPs back to back: 1963's Loose and 1967's Soul Grabber (both of which employ Carl Wilson on organ and underscore Jackson's fondness for the Hammond B-3). While Soul Grabber is heard in its entirety, one of the songs from Loose ("Y'all") was omitted due to space limitations. During the '60s, Jackson wasn't afraid to look in a variety of places for material -- his repertoire ranged from original compositions to Tin Pan Alley to Burt Bacharach/Hal David, Bobby Vinton and Motown. Jackson seemed to realize that worthwhile popular music was worthwhile music regardless of the source, and on After Hours, Gator finds the jazz potential in everything from "Secret Love" and "Sometimes I'm Happy" to Bobbie Gentry's "Ode to Billie Joe," Bobby Hebb's "Sunny" and Peter, Paul & Mary's "I Dig Rock and Roll Music." Jackson's tenor dominates the album, but on Bacharach/David's "Alfie," the saxman plays a custom-made instrument he named the "gator horn" (which he described as "somewhere between an alto sax, a soprano sax and a French horn"). Parts of this CD were obviously designed to reach soul and rock fans, but thankfully, Gator knew how to make some commercial moves without sacrificing his skills as an improviser. While After Hours falls short of essential, this is a solid, pleasing disc that Jackson's hardcore fans will enjoy. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Willis Jackson

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218529426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)