Phyllis Hyman The Legacy of Phyllis Hyman (2-CD)

The Legacy of Phyllis Hyman (2-CD)
56 ratings
Only 8 copies left
Price: $15.49
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.50 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HF99
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Arista

Entertainment Reviews:

Vibe - 2/97, p.103
"...a bittersweet compilation of some of Hyman's best material....Hyman sang as though her listeners were wrapped in sable and drinking vintage champagne..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Be Careful (How You Treat My Love)
  • Buy for $0.992.Betcha by Golly, Wow - (featuring Phyllis Hyman)
  • Buy for $0.993.No One Can Love You More
  • Buy for $0.994.Living Inside Your Love
  • Buy for $0.995.Gonna Make Changes
  • Buy for $0.996.The Answer Is You
  • Buy for $0.997.Loving You, Losing You
  • Buy for $0.998.We Both Need Each Other - (featuring Phyllis Hyman & Michael Henderson)
  • Buy for $0.999.We Should Be Lovers
  • Buy for $0.9910.You Know How to Love Me
  • Buy for $0.9911.Under Your Spell
  • Buy for $0.9912.Give a Little More
  • Buy for $0.9913.In a Sentimental Mood - (from "The Original Broadway Cast Recording Of 'SOPHISTICATED LADIES'")
  • Buy for $0.9914.Somewhere in My Lifetime

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Can't We Fall in Love Again - (Duet with Michael Henderson)
  • Buy for $0.992.Don't Tell Me, Tell Her
  • Buy for $0.993.I Ain't Asking
  • Buy for $0.994.Tonight You and Me - (Disco Version)
  • Buy for $0.995.Let Somebody Love You
  • Buy for $0.996.When I Give My Love (This Time)
  • Buy for $0.997.Why Did You Turn Me On
  • Buy for $0.998.Just Me and You
  • Buy for $0.999.Falling Star
  • Buy for $0.9910.Living in Confusion
  • Buy for $0.9911.I Don't Want to Lose You
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Sunshine in My Life
  • 13.Old Friend
  • 14.Living All Alone

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Phyllis Hyman (vocals, whistle); Michael Henderson (vocals, bass); Gary Betz (tenor saxophone, saxophone); Greg Scott, Cater Jefferson (saxophone); Barry Lee Hall, John Longo (trumpet, flugelhorn); Joseph Smithers (trumpet); Mark Johnson (trombone); Sidney Muldrow (French horn); Art Webb (flute); Herbie Hancock, Paul Schaefer, Barry Manilow, Bill Summers (piano, keyboards, synthesizers); Keith Loving, Craig Snyder, Louis Russell, Lee Ritenour, John Rowin (guitars); Bob Babbitt, Steve Green, Nathan East, Randy Jackson (bass); Charles Collins, Richard Pratt, Narada Michael Walden, Quinton Joseph (drums); Rocky White, Charles Simmons, Eddie Brown, Casey James (percussion); Al Martinez, Sharon Redd (background vocals).
Producers include: Larry Alexander, Skip Scarborough, Thom Bell, Chuck Jackson, Skip Drinkwater.
Compilation producer: Leo Sacks
Recorded between 1977 & 1991. Includes liner notes by Clayton Riley.
There have been numerous attempts at summarizing Phyllis Hyman's career on one disc. Most have been severely flawed, whether it has come down to missing hit singles or poor selection of album cuts. And while Hyman didn't have that many chart hits (at least when compared to several of her contemporaries), there has always been the need for a double-disc compilation that goes deeper -- allowing space for all the major singles and album cuts that deserve more attention. The Legacy of Phyllis Hyman fills that void. Although it might be a little too much for the person who just wants the songs heard on the radio, it's the next best thing to having all of her studio albums (all of which are spotty in varying degrees).~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 56 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Phyllis Hyman

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 35,611
  • UPC: 078221893824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)