Shirley Horn Loads of Love / Shirley Horn with Horns

Loads of Love / Shirley Horn with Horns
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34GDQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Wild Is Love
  • Buy for $0.992.Loads of Love
  • Buy for $0.993.My Future Just Passed
  • Buy for $0.994.There's a Boat That's Leavin' Soon For N. Y.
  • Buy for $0.995.Ten Cents a Dance
  • Buy for $0.996.Only the Lonely
  • Buy for $0.997.The Second Time Around
  • Buy for $0.998.Do It Again
  • Buy for $0.999.It's Love
  • Buy for $0.9910.That's No Joke
  • Buy for $1.2911.Love For Sale
  • Buy for $0.9912.Who Am I
  • Buy for $0.9913.On the Street Where You Live
  • Buy for $0.9914.The Great City
  • Buy for $0.9915.That Old Black Magic
  • Buy for $0.9916.Mack the Knife
  • Buy for $0.9917.Come Dance With Me
  • Buy for $0.9918.Let Me Love You
  • Buy for $0.9919.After You've Gone
  • Buy for $0.9920.Wouldn't It Be Loverly
  • Buy for $0.9921.Go Away Little Boy
  • Buy for $0.9922.I'm in the Mood For Love
  • Buy for $0.9923.The Good Life
  • Buy for $0.9924.Wee Small Hours

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD.
This CD is a reissue of two very appealing albums recorded by Shirley Horn for Mercury in 1963, that until now were rare collector's items. Unfortunately Horn, first and foremost a pianist, was prevented from accompanying herself on piano on either release, and she was understandably frustrated with not being able to set her own tempos or hear her own chord choices.
LOADS OF LOVE is a lushly orchestrated affair in the pop-jazz mode of the day, much in the style of Nat "King" Cole or Peggy Lee. Horn's vocals are simple, breathy, quite smoky, and sexy. Standout tracks are a swinging "Love For Sale," and the ballads "The Second Time Around" and "Ten Cents a Dance." Her second release, SHIRLEY HORN WITH HORNS, is a big band affair produced and conducted by Quincy Jones, in much the same pop-jazz vein as the first album, but brassier. Standout tracks include swinging versions of "The Great City," "Come Dance With Me," and the fine ballad "I'm In the Mood For Love." Although these recordings are well worth checking out, they only hint at the immense artistry of Shirley Horn.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Shirley Horn

Product Info

  • UPC: 042284345422
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)