Billie Holiday Priceless Jazz

Priceless Jazz
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34ARX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Verve


  • Buy for $1.291.Good Morning Heartache
  • Buy for $0.992.My Man :: Mon Homme
  • Buy for $0.993.I Loves You Porgy
  • Buy for $0.994.Baby I Don't Cry Over You
  • Buy for $1.295.Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?)
  • Buy for $0.996.The Blues Are Brewin'
  • Buy for $0.997.There Is No Greater Love
  • Buy for $0.998.You Can't Lose a Broken Heart
  • Buy for $0.699.Big Stuff
  • Buy for $0.9910.I'll Look Around
  • Buy for $0.9911.Now or Never
  • Buy for $0.9912.Don't Explain
  • Buy for $0.9913.Easy Living
  • Buy for $1.2914.Crazy He Calls Me
  • Buy for $0.9915.My Sweet Hunk of Trash
  • Buy for $1.2916.God Bless the Child

Product Description:

Also available as part of a 3 CD set called VOICES OF THE CENTURY (VERVE 543 077), with Ella Fitzgerald's PRICLESS JAZZ COLLECTION (GRD 9870) and Carmen McRae's PRICELESS JAZZ COLLECTION (GRP 9897).
Personnel includes: Billie Holiday, Louis Armstrong (vocals); Bill Stegmeyer, Milter Yaner (alto saxophone, clarinet); Toots Mondello (alto saxophone); John Fulton (tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet); Hank Ross, Bernie Kaufman, Armand Camgros (tenor saxophone); Dick "Dent" Eckles (flute); Joe Guy, Russ Case, Bobby Hackett (trumpet); Joe Springer, Billy Kyle, Dave Bowman, Charles LaVerve (piano); Tiny Grimes, Mundell Lowe, Jimmy Shirley, Carl Kress, Everett Barksdale (guitar); John Simmons, Bob Haggart, Thomas Barney, Joe Benjamin (bass); Sid Catlett, Kenny Clarke, Denzil Best, Kelly Martin, Jimmy Crawford, George Wettling (drums); The Gordon Jenkins Singers (background vocals).
Producer: Milt Gabler.
Reissue producer: John Snyder.
Recorded at Decca's New York Studios, New York, New York between 1944 and 1950. Includes liner notes by Jim Macnie.
Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (1997, MCA Studios, New York, New York).
This is part of GRP Records' Priceless Jazz series.
On these 16 songs compiled from Holiday's 1943-1950 recordings for Decca, the somber songbird is clearly at the height of her vocal ability. Although many of the famous musicians from her Columbia years are absent, Holiday's musical maturity works wonderfully with well-written songs and her proficient backing band.
"Good Morning Heartache," "My Man (Mon Homme)," "Lover Man (Oh Where Can You Be?)," and "Don't Explain" all highlight Holiday's intimate, lilting voice and intuitive sense of tragic romance. In contrast, the singer also reveals a surprisingly playful side on clever renditions of "Baby I Don't Cry Over You" and "You Can't Lose a Broken Heart" (a duet with Louis Armstrong). In spite of its many essential tracks, including the Holiday-penned perennial "God Bless the Child," this compilation is far from comprehensive, and works best as an introduction to Holiday's music. The only thing this PRICELESS JAZZ COLLECTION truly lacks is more Billie Holiday.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Billie Holiday

Product Info

  • UPC: 011105987127
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)