Paul Young The Secret of Association [UK Bonus Disc] (2-CD)

The Secret of Association [UK Bonus Disc] (2-CD)
20 ratings
Price: $26.99
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HF54
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Edsel Records Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Bite the Hand That Feeds
  • 2.Every Time You Go Away
  • 3.I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down
  • 4.Standing on the Edge
  • 5.Soldier's Things
  • 6.Everything Must Change
  • 7.Tomb of Memories
  • 8.One Step Forward
  • 9.Hot Fun
  • 10.This Means Anything
  • 11.I Was in Chains

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down - (Special Extended Mix, remix)
  • 2.Everything Must Change - (12" Mix, remix)
  • 3.Give Me My Freedom
  • 4.Every Time You Go Away - (12" Mix, remix)
  • 5.Tomb of Memories - (12" Mix, remix)
  • 6.The Man in the Iron Mask
  • 7.Bite the Hand That Feeds - (live)
  • 8.No Parlez - (live)

Product Description:

Personnel: Johnny Turnbull, Steve Bolton (guitar); Graham Preskett (violin); Nicky Payne (saxophone); Big Jim Paterson, Paul Nieman (trombone); Ian Kewley (piano); Matt Irving (keyboard bass); Pino Palladino (bass guitar); Mark Pinder (drums, percussion); Marc Chantereau (percussion); Chris Difford, Glenn Tilbrook, George Chandler, Ged Doherty, Tony Jackson, Jimmy Chambers (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Peter Hammond.
Liner Note Author: Alan Robinson .
Recording information: Park Gates, Sussex, England (05/10/1985); Pathe Marconi, Paris, France (05/10/1985); The Workhouse Studios, London, England (05/10/1985).
Photographer: Simon Fowler .
Unknown Contributor Role: Laurie Latham.
Arrangers: Ian Kewley; Laurie Latham.
Paul Young's second album, released in 1985, THE SECRET OF ASSOCIATION was his US commercial breakthrough following the critical praise for his 1983 debut, NO PARLEZ. Thanks to two spectacular singles--the definitive version of Daryl Hall's lovely "Everytime You Go Away" and a charging rendition of the oft-covered "I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down" that is second only to Ann Peebles' slinky original--the record was an enormous success.
THE SECRET OF ASSOCIATION is a masterpiece of mid-'80s commercial pop. Young's secret weapons include the trilling voices of his female backing duo, The Fabulous Wealthy Tarts, incredibly lush keyboard-dominated arrangements, and Laurie Latham's panoramic, gimmicky production--which showcases (but does not smother) Young's powerful voice in a setting of odd sonic tricks. All are helped considerably by Young's increasingly confident songwriting (his "Everything Must Change" is particularly strong) and by an odd choice of covers that even includes a brilliant rendition of Tom Waits' "Soldier's Things."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Paul Young

Product Info

  • UPC: 740155200633
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)