The Action Action Packed

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.3
10 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Item:  EDS 699
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: January 29, 2001
  • Label: Edsel Records Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 5/01, p.122
"...Their sound is a potpourri of Northern soul, Byrds Rickenbacker guitar, King's stirring vocals, strong Mod originals and some terrific reworkings of Motown classics....emoting as soulfully as any impovershed Yank..."


  • 1.Land of 1000 Dances
  • 2.In My Lonely Room
  • 3.Harlem Shuffle
  • 4.I Love You (Yeah)
  • 5.I'll Keep on Holding On
  • 6.Hey Sha-Lo-Ney
  • 7.Just Once in My Life
  • 8.Wasn't It You?
  • 9.Baby You've Got It
  • 10.Since I Lost My Baby
  • 11.Never Ever
  • 12.Twenty-Fourth Hour
  • 13.The Place
  • 14.Come on, Come With Me
  • 15.The Cissy
  • 16.Something Has Hit Me
  • 17.Shadows and Reflections

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Paul Weller.
Personnel: Reg King (vocals); Pete Watson , Alan "Bam" King (guitar); Roger Powell (drums).
Liner Note Author: Alan Robinson .
Though the Action never had a chart hit nor scaled the heights of fame like its mid-1960s British Invasion contemporaries, the group remains well-respected as one of the quintessential mod/U.K. R&B bands. THE ULTIMATE ACTION makes a good case for the justness of this assessment by collecting the best of the Action's eminently soulful singles in one convenient package. Though vocalist Reg King and crew were never as bombastic as the Who, as threatening as the Rolling Stones, or as tough-sounding as the Small Faces, the Action were groovier than all three and perhaps closest to the spirit of the American black music they so admired. Produced by George Martin, on tracks like "In My Lonely Room" and "I Love You (Yeah)" the group also had a Beatles/Miracles-esque flair for vocal harmony which softened the teenage angst and lent the music a good-time vibe.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:


Product Info:

  • UPC: 740155169923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item