Sepultura Chaos A.D.

Chaos A.D.
120 ratings
Only 6 copies left
Sale: $8.08
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.06 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.98
You Save: $1.92 (21% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  GKSY
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 1, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Roadrunner Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 11/26/93, p.67
"...Sepultura will separate casual headbangers from rabid addicts fast....even nonmetalheads will be impressed by the variety in [CHAOS A.D.]: they're not averse to slowing things down..." - Rating: B+
Q - 12/93, p.122
3 Stars - Good - "...[CHAOS A.D.] should mark a milestone in [Sepultura's] career...they've succeeded in capturing their live aggression with a resonance and immediacy that evaded earlier efforts..."
Melody Maker - 10/23/93, p.33
"...[CHAOS A.D. is a] genuine expression of outrage...Sepultura are not in the business of splatter soundtracks or documentary gore-fests--they write protest songs..."
NME (Magazine) - 10/23/93, p.37
(6) - Good - "...CHAOS AD may be the term for the boiling point rage against state corruption and persecution, but [Sepultura] leave the sickening negativity and chronic egoism to others..."


  • 1.Refuse / Resist
  • 2.Territory
  • 3.Slave New World
  • 4.Amen
  • 5.Kaiowas
  • 6.Propaganda
  • 7.Biotech Is Godzilla
  • 8.Nomad
  • 9.We Who Are Not as Others
  • 10.Manifest
  • 11.The Hunt
  • 12.Clenched Fist
  • 13.Chaos B.C.
  • 14.Kaiowas
  • 15.Territory
  • 16.Amen / Inner Self: Inner Self - (live)

Product Description:

Sepultura: Max Cavalera (vocals, acoustic guitar); Andreas Kisser (acoustic & electric guitars); Paulo Jr. (bass, percussion); Igor Cavalera (drums, percussion).
Recorded at Rockfield Studios and Cheepstow Castle, South Wales.
Personnel: Max Cavalera (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar); Andreas Kisser (guitar, acoustic guitar, steel guitar); Igor Cavalera (drums, percussion).
Recording information: Chepstow Castle, S. Wales, England; Rockfield Studios, S.Wales, England.
Sepultura truly claimed its place on the heavy-metal world stage with 1993's CHAOS A.D., a focused, dose-of-thunder release that crystallized the Brazilian outfit's aesthetic. Propulsive rhythms, gravel-voice shouting, and epic guitar riffs drenched in nerve-fraying distortion come together in a perfect marriage here. But while Sepultura's music was originally inspired by the likes of Metallica and Slayer, CHAOS A.D. feels considerably more stripped-down than the music of these mentors--progressive changes and long, showy solos are few and far between.
Instead, Sepultura emphasizes fierce, straightforward structures that have more in common with hardcore's no-nonsense approach than metal's glamorous flash. The band's lyrics take a distinctly political turn on CHAOS A.D., addressing issues such as state-generated war ("Refuse/Resist") and biotechnology ("Biotech Is Godzilla"--with lyrics written by Jello Biafra). The weightiness of the themes is well suited to the crushing, apocalyptic sound of the quartet (Igor Cavalera's drumming alone could bulldoze a medium-sized city), and the intensity of the performances throughout should appeal to fans of both traditional and hardcore metal. This is an essential album from one of the most important aggressive rock bands of the 1990s.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 120 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Sepultura

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 49,605
  • UPC: 016861885922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)