Ella Fitzgerald In Budapest (Live)

In Budapest (Live)
8 ratings
Only 6 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HWWV
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Pablo


  • Buy for $1.291.Crazy Rhythm
  • Buy for $0.992.Medley: This Guy's in Love with You / I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write: This Guy's In Love With You / I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter
  • Buy for $0.993.Open Your Window
  • Buy for $0.994.Satin Doll
  • Buy for $0.995.Spinning Wheel
  • Buy for $0.996.As Time Goes By
  • Buy for $0.997.You'd Better Love Me
  • Buy for $0.998.I'll Never Fall in Love Again
  • Buy for $0.999.Hello, Young Lovers
  • Buy for $0.9910.Medley: Concentrate on You / You Go to My Head: I Concentrate On You / You Go To My Head
  • Buy for $0.9911.The Girl from Ipanema
  • Buy for $0.9912.Cabaret
  • Buy for $0.9913.Dancing in the Dark
  • Buy for $0.9914.Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head
  • Buy for $0.6915.The Lady Is a Tramp
  • Buy for $0.9916.Summertime
  • Buy for $0.9917.You'll Have to Swing It (Mr. Paganini)
  • Buy for $0.9918.Mack the Knife
  • Buy for $0.6919.People

Product Description:

Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Tommy Flanagan (piano); Frank De La Rosa (bass); Ed Thigpen (drums).
Reissue producer: Eric Miller
Recorded live in Budapest, Hungary on May 20, 1970. Includes liner notes by Joe Goldberg.
Digitally remastered by Kirk Felton (1999, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Recording information: Budapest, Hungary (05/20/1970).
Not many jazz singers played Eastern Europe during the time of the Iron Curtain, but jazz records were nevertheless a treasured underground commodity in Communist countries. This concert from May 20, 1970 is atypical only in its location, however. Fitzgerald is backed by her usual road trio of the era--pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Frank de la Rosa, and drummer Ed Thigpen--and performs a fairly standard repertoire. Highlights include a fairly breathtaking scat solo in the opening "Crazy Rhythm," a smoky "As Time Goes By," and fine versions of several pop hits of the era, including a slinky take on Bacharach and David's "This Girl's in Love With You." The sound is clear and warm, and the audience certainly sounds properly appreciative! A fine concert document.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 70,864
  • UPC: 025218530828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)