The Stockholm Concert, 1966 (Live)

The Stockholm Concert, 1966 (Live)
8 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  365EF
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Pablo


  • Buy for $0.991.Imagine My Frustration
  • Buy for $1.292.Duke's Place
  • Buy for $0.993.Satin Doll
  • Buy for $0.994.Something To Live For
  • Buy for $0.995.Wives And Lovers
  • Buy for $0.996.So Danco Samba
  • Buy for $0.997.Let's Do It
  • Buy for $0.998.Lover Man
  • Buy for $0.999.Cottontail

Product Description:

Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Duke Ellington (piano); Paul Gonsalves, Jimmy Hamilton, Johnny Hodges, Russell Procope, Harry Carney (saxophone); Cootie Williams, Herb Jones, Cat Anderson, Mercer Ellington (trumpet); Lawrence Brown, Buster Cooper, Chuck Conners (trombone); Jimmy Jones (piano); John Lamb, Joe Comfort (bass); Gus Johnson, Sam Woodyard (drums).
Recorded live at Konserthuset, Stockholm, Sweden in 1966. Includes liner notes by Norman Granz.
Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1987, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
After an auspicious beginning with the Chick Webb band and long solo run featuring a celebrated string of songbook albums on Verve (Cole Porter, George Gershwin, Rodgers & Hart, etc.), Ella Fitzgerald maintained her high profile from the mid-'60s onward, mostly by touring the world and -- to a lesser extent -- recording a series of enjoyable dates for Pablo. This informal-sounding, never before released Stockholm concert recording from 1966 shows why Fitzgerald as primarily a live performer is not such a bad thing. Backed by Duke Ellington's orchestra and her own trio of pianist Jimmy Jones, bassist Joe Comfort, and drummer Gus Johnson, she shows off her incredible interpretive skills on a mix of standards heavy with Ellington and Strayhorn classics. Along with a rousing rendition of "Cottontail" (featuring a scatting Fitzgerald and tenor saxophonist Paul Gonsalves trading fours), there's a pop swinging version of "Satin Doll" and all too rarely heard vocal takes of "Imagine My Frustration" and "Something to Live For." Rounding out the Ellington cuts, Fitzgerald also exquisitely handles '60s fare like Jobim's "So Danco Samba" and Bacharach's "Wives and Lovers." In addition to Gonsalves, Ellington regulars like Johnny Hodges and Cootie Williams also contribute some fine solos. While maybe not as essential as Ella's Verve songbooks, The Stockholm Concert is still a must for any serious Fitzgerald fan. ~ Stephen Cook

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218024228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)