The Move Looking On [Salvo Bonus Tracks]

Looking On [Salvo Bonus Tracks]
12 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HWSW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Salvo

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.98
4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] mix of hard rock, proto-glam, free-form saxes, bleating crumhorns and overdubbed 'I-Am-The-Walrus'-cellos which signaled the stylistic origins of ELO..."
Q (Magazine) - p.157
3 stars out of 5 -- "[Y]ou get heavy riffs between Black Sabbath and Cream, and a proggy liking for time changes."


  • 1.Looking On
  • 2.Turkish Tram Conductor Blues
  • 3.What?
  • 4.When Alice Comes Back to the Moon
  • 5.Open Up Said the World at the Door
  • 6.Brontosaurus
  • 7.Feel Too Good
  • 8.Lightnin' Never Strikes Twice
  • 9.Looking on, Pt. 1 - (alternate take)
  • 10.Looking on, Pt. 2 - (alternate take)
  • 11.Turkish Tram Conductor Blues - (alternate take)
  • 12.Open Up Said the World at the Door - (alternate take)
  • 13.Feel Too Good - (alternate take)
  • 14.Duke of Edinburgh's Lettuce, The - (alternate take)
  • 15.[CD-Rom Track]

Product Description:

This 1998 reissue contains 10 bonus tracks not on the original release.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Roy Wood (vocals, guitar, slide guitar, sitar, cello, oboe, saxophone, background vocals); Jeff Lynne (vocals, guitar, piano, drums, percussion, background vocals); Bev Bevan (drums, percussion); Doris Troy, P.P. Arnold (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Rob Keyloch.
Audio Remasterers: Nick Robbins; Rob Keyloch.
Liner Note Author: Mark Paytress.
Recording information: Advision Studios, London, England; Philips Studios.
Photographer: Chris Walter.
The Move's classic third album is often misunderstood, considered an awkward heavy metal bridge between the powerful mod-pop blasts of THE MOVE and SHAZAM! and the more subtle, classical influences of 1971's MESSAGE FROM THE COUNTRY. While the album does have a certain lumbering quality--only seven lengthy tracks--it's also surprisingly graceful. The first Move album to feature Jeff Lynne as leader Roy Wood's creative foil, LOOKING ON hints at the classical experiments of MESSAGE and Wood and Lynne's first album as the Electric Light Orchestra, with strings and oboe coloring the multi-part title track and "Feel Too Good." Meanwhile, the single "When Alice Comes Back to the Farm" features the sort of demented '50s updates Wood further explored in his post-ELO band Wizzard. Finally, there's the classic "Brontosaurus," an aptly-titled FM radio staple. This excellently remastered reissue gives due credit to an underrated gem.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Move

Product Info

  • UPC: 698458811424
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)