Ella Fitzgerald Clap Hands Here Comes Charlie

Clap Hands Here Comes Charlie
10% OFF
Rating 5.0
20 ratings
List Price: $14.99
Your Price: $13.49
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  HWRH
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $1.291.Night In Tunisia
  • Buy for $1.292.You're My Thrill
  • Buy for $1.293.My Reverie
  • Buy for $1.294.Stella By Starlight
  • Buy for $1.295.'Round Midnight
  • Buy for $1.296.Jersey Bounce
  • Buy for $1.297.Signing Off
  • Buy for $1.298.Cry Me A River
  • Buy for $1.299.This Year's Kisses
  • Buy for $1.2910.Good Morning Heartache
  • Buy for $1.2911.Born To Be Blue, (I Was)
  • Buy for $1.2912.Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie!
  • Buy for $1.2913.Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most
  • Buy for $1.2914.Music Goes 'Round And Around
  • Buy for $1.2915.One I Love Belongs To Somebody Else, The - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • Buy for $1.2916.I Got A Guy - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • Buy for $1.2917.This Could Be The Start Of Something Big - (previously unreleased, bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Lou Levy (piano); Herb Ellis (guitar);
Joe Mondragon (bass); Stan Levey (drums)
Recorded in Los Angeles, California on June 22-23, 1961. Includes orginal liner notes by Benny Green and and reissue liner notes by Will Friedwald.
Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Herb Ellis (guitar); Lou Levy (piano); Gus Johnson , Stan Levey (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Dennis Drake.
Liner Note Authors: Benny Green ; Will Friedwald.
Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (06/22/1961-06/23/1961); New York, NY (06/22/1961-06/23/1961).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Seth Rothstein; Richard Seidel.
Many of the Ella Fitzgerald CDs in print are compilations and recently discovered live recordings, which makes this reissue with bonus tracks of a 1961 album that much more interesting. Produced by Norman Granz, this is a small-combo session with occasional and unobtrusive strings. Though Fitzgerald got her start as a big-band singer, smaller and more intimate combos fit her rich, velvety voice better than big brassy arrangements.
Opening with Dizzy Gillespie's classic "Night in Tunisia," which features some outstanding scatting, CLAP HANDS, HERE COMES CHARLIE continues in that bop-oriented vein, with versions of "Stella By Starlight" and Monk's "'Round Midnight." The highest point on the album, though, is a stunning, stripped-down version of "Cry Me a River." The three bonus tracks, recorded during these sessions, are very good, but not revelatory, though the saucy "I Got a Guy" is swinging fun.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 118,461
  • UPC: 042283564626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: