Ella Fitzgerald Ella & Friends [GRP]

Ella & Friends [GRP]
7 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HWQX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Verve

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 9/96, p.130
3 Stars - Good - "...Ella would sing virtually anything thrust in her path and have fun moulding it to her own unique way..."


  • Buy for $0.991.The Frim Fram Sauce
  • Buy for $1.292.Dream a Little Dream of Me
  • Buy for $0.993.Can Anyone Explain? (No, No, No!)
  • Buy for $0.994.Would You Like to Take a Walk
  • Buy for $0.995.Who Walks in When I Walk Out?
  • Buy for $0.996.Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall
  • Buy for $0.997.I'm Making Believe
  • Buy for $0.998.I'm Beginning to See the Light
  • Buy for $0.999.I Still Feel the Same About You
  • Buy for $0.9910.Petootie Pie
  • Buy for $1.2911.Baby, It's Cold Outside
  • Buy for $0.9912.Don't Cry, Cry Baby
  • Buy for $0.9913.Ain't Nobody's Business But My Own
  • Buy for $0.9914.I'll Never Be Free
  • Buy for $0.9915.It's Only a Paper Moon
  • Buy for $0.9916.Cry You Out of My Heart
  • Buy for $0.9917.(I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
  • Buy for $0.9918.It's a Pity to Say Goodnight
  • Buy for $0.9919.Fairy Tales
  • Buy for $0.9920.I Gotta Have My Baby Back

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Louis Armstrong, The Ink Spots, Louis Jordan, The Delta Rhythm Boys, The Mills Brothers.
Recorded between 1935 and 1955.
Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Hy White, Carl Hogan , Jimmy Shirley (guitar); Louis Jordan (alto saxophone); Eddie Johnson , Josh Jackson (tenor saxophone); Aaron Izenhall (trumpet); Bill Davis (piano); Eddie Bourne, Chris Columbus, George Wettling, Eddie Byrd (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Erick Labson.
Liner Note Author: Geoffrey Mark Fidelman.
Recording information: L.A., CA (08/30/1944-11/23/1951); Los Angeles, CA (08/30/1944-11/23/1951).
Photographer: Herman Leonard.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Sy Oliver; Bob Haggart.
This 20-track collection showcases Ella Fitzgerald alongside such other jazz and pop luminaries as the Mills Brothers, the Ink Spots, the Delta Rhythm Boys, and jazz's two Louises, Armstrong and Jordan. As you might expect from the guest list, the collection focuses on the first two decades of Fitzgerald's career, from 1935 to 1955, a period during which Fitzgerald blossomed from a 17-year-old with a high, girlish voice to the most accomplished and exquisite female singer in jazz history. The song selection occasionally favors more anomalous and lighthearted selections, such as the goofily delightful "The Frim Fram Sauce," but most of Fitzgerald's performances are excellent renditions of standards. Two standouts are the evergreen "(I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons" and the swinging "I Gotta Have My Baby Back."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • UPC: 011105066327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)