Ella Fitzgerald Something to Live For (2-CD)

Something to Live For (2-CD)
5 ratings
Price: $26.98
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HWQK
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Polygram Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.A-Tisket, A-Tasket
  • Buy for $0.992.You Showed Me the Way
  • Buy for $0.993.Stairway to the Stars
  • Buy for $1.294.How High the Moon
  • 5.Perdido
  • Buy for $0.996.Can Anyone Explain?
  • Buy for $0.697.Ella's Contribution to the Blues
  • Buy for $0.998.But Not For Me
  • Buy for $0.999.Thanks For the Memory
  • Buy for $0.9910.Ridin' High
  • Buy for $0.9911.Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
  • Buy for $1.2912.Angel Eyes
  • Buy for $0.9913.Goody, Goody
  • Buy for $0.9914.Oh, Lady Be Good!

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.The Lady Is a Tramp
  • Buy for $0.692.Body and Soul
  • Buy for $0.993.Airmail Special
  • Buy for $1.294.Midnight Sun
  • Buy for $1.295.Summertime
  • Buy for $1.296.Mack the Knife
  • Buy for $1.297.Misty
  • Buy for $1.298.The Man I Love
  • Buy for $1.299.Mr. Paganini, (You'll Have to Swing It)
  • Buy for $1.2910.'Round Midnight
  • Buy for $1.2911.Bill Bailey
  • Buy for $1.2912.Yesterdays
  • Buy for $0.9913.Lover Man
  • Buy for $0.9914.Duke's Place
  • Buy for $0.9915.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • Buy for $0.9916.Something to Live For

Product Description:

SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR is a companion 2-CD set to a PBS documentary with the same name which aired on AMERICAN MASTERS in December 1999.
Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); George Russell, Frank DeVol, Nelson Riddle, Andre Previn (arranger, conductor); Duke Ellington (arranger, piano); Louis Jordan (vocals, alto saxophone); Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Charlie Parker, Johnny Hodges, Bud Shank (alto saxophone); Stan Getz, Coleman Hawkins, Paul Gonsalves, Lester Young, Ben Webster, Illinois Jacquet, Flip Phillips (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet); Cootie Williams, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Maynard Ferguson (trumpet); Jimmy Rowles, Oscar Peterson, Hank Jones (piano); Jim Hall (guitar); Ray Brown, George Duvivier (bass); Buddy Rich, Chick Webb, Connie Kay, Louie Bellson, Shelly Manne (drums).
Producers: Milt Gabler, Norman Granz, Dave Kapp.
Compilation producers: Tom Greenwood, Ben Young.
Recorded between March 24, 1937 & July 29, 1966. Includes liner notes by Stuart Nicholson.
Digitally remastered by Kevin Reeves (Universal Music Studios East).
SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR was nominated for the 2001 Grammy Award for Best Long Form Music Video.
The First Lady Of Song is widely regarded as the finest female jazz singer of all time, and has exerted an influence over American popular music that is incalculable, though SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR gives it a shot. This 32-track, career-spanning double set serves as a companion to PBS's popular "American Masters" series and offers, for the first time on one collection, a retrospective of Ella Fitzgerald's two most important periods: the Decca years (1935-55), and her Verve years (1956-66).
"A-Tisket, A-Tasket" was the first of many hits she had with the Chick Webb Orchestra, while "How High the Moon" and a live take of "Goody, Goody" show off her remarkable gift for inventive and often humorous scat. There are five selections from her celebrated "Songbook" series, and other rare gems with Ella fronting the orchestras of Duke Ellington, Nelson Riddle and others. With her clear, pristine tone, masterful articulation, and the ability to out-swing anybody any time, Ella Fitzgerald was a singular musical force whose rich legacy continues to reward listeners.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • UPC: 731454780025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)