Ella Fitzgerald Priceless Jazz Collection, Volume 2

Priceless Jazz Collection, Volume 2
Price: $14.99
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  365DW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Verve


  • Buy for $0.991.Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
  • Buy for $0.992.Angel Eyes
  • Buy for $0.993.Hard Hearted Hannah
  • Buy for $0.994.My One and Only Love
  • Buy for $0.995.I've Got the World on a String
  • Buy for $1.296.Baby, It's Cold Outside
  • Buy for $0.997.Basin Street Blues
  • Buy for $0.998.Air Mail Special
  • Buy for $0.999.I Gotta Have My Baby Back
  • Buy for $0.9910.Looking for a Boy
  • Buy for $0.9911.Black Coffee
  • Buy for $0.9912.A Sunday Kind of Love
  • Buy for $0.9913.Soon
  • Buy for $0.9914.Thanks for the Memory
  • Buy for $0.9915.That Old Black Magic
  • Buy for $0.9916.Stardust
  • Buy for $0.9917.Undecided

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald, The Mills Brothers (vocals); Louis Jordan (alto saxophone); Eddie Johnson (tenor saxophone); Aaron Izenhall (trumpet); Ellis Larkins, Bill Davis, Don Abney (piano); Dallas Bartley, Joe Mondragon (bass); Chris Columbus, Larry Bunker (drums); The Gordon Jenkins Orchestra; The Bob Haggart Orchestra; The Andre Previn Orchestra; The Benny Carter Orchestra; The Toots Camerata Orchestra; The Ray Brown Orchestra.
The Sy Oliver Orchestra: Taft Jordan, Jimmy Nottingham, Bernie Privin (trumpet); Bobby Byrne, Mort Bullman, Al Grey (trombone); Milt Yaner, Sid Cooper, Sam Taylor, Dick Jacobs, Dave McRae (reeds); Hank Jones (piano); Everett Barksdale (guitar); Sandy Block (bass); Jimmy Crawford (drums).
The Toots Camerata Orchestra: Charlie Shavers, Jimmy Nottingham, Dale McMickle (trumpet); Saracco, Will Bradley, Cutty Cutshell, Ward Silloway (trombone); Al Howard, Hymie Schertzer, Hal Feldman, Al Klink (reeds); Janet Pullman (harp, strings); Don Abney (piano); Al Casamenti (guitar); Eddie Safranski (bass); Jimmy Crawford (drums).
The Ray Brown Orchestra: Ray Brown (bass); Hank Jones (piano); Bill Doggett (organ); Rudy Taylor (drums); Dick Jacobs (percussion).
The Chick Webb Orchestra: Dick Vance, Bobby Stark, Taft Jordan (trumpet); Sandy Williams, Nat Story, George Matthews (trombone); Garvin Bushell, Hilton Jefferson, Warman Carver, Teddy McRae (reeds); Tommy Fulford (piano); Bobby Johnson (guitar); Beverley Peer (bass); Chick Webb (drums).
Producers: Milt Gabler, Dave Kapp.
Compilation producer: Bob Belden.
Includes liner notes by Jim Macnie.
This is part of GRP Records' Priceless Jazz series.
Personnel: Everett Barksdale, Al Casamenti (guitar); Janet Pullman (harp, strings); Dick Jacobs (reeds, percussion); Garvin Bushell, Hilton Jefferson, Al Howard, Dave McRae , Jerry Jerome, Sam "The Man" Taylor , Sid Cooper, Teddy McRae, Al Klink, Hymie Schertzer, Milt Yaner (reeds); Louis Jordan (alto saxophone); Eddie Johnson (tenor saxophone); Tony Faso, Dale McMickle, Aaron Izenhall, Paul Webster, Taft Jordan, Jimmy Nottingham, Dick Vance, Bobby Stark , Bernie Privin, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Nat Story, Henderson Chambers, Andrew Williams , Ward Silloway , Al Grey, Will Bradley, George Matthews , Cutty Cutshall, Bobby Byrne, Mort Bullman (trombone); Don Abney, Tommy Fulford, Ellis Larkins, Hank Jones , Bill Davis (piano); Bill Doggett (organ); Chick Webb , Chris Columbus, Jimmy Crawford , Larry Bunker, Rudy Taylor (drums).
Liner Note Author: Jim Macnie.
Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (02/17/1939-08/05/1955); New York, NY (02/17/1939-08/05/1955).
Photographer: Alan Nahigian.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Andr‚ Previn & His Pals; Sy Oliver; Bob Haggart.
There could be a hundred volumes of Ella's songs, and they would all be priceless. For this 17-track compilation, Ella sings in a more sentimental, subdued mode overall. There's the curve ball "Air Mail Special" in the middle, and "Undecided" at the end. For the most part she's swinging seriously, with thoughtful aplomb and a more quiet intensity. This collection might be a good starter set, or -- with the previous volume -- all the Ella you'll ever need. It's likely, though, you'll want a lot more. ~ Michael G. Nastos

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • UPC: 011105991629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)