Ella Fitzgerald 75th Birthday Celebration (2-CD)

75th Birthday Celebration (2-CD)
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YR76
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Verve

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 7/93, p.106
4 Stars - Excellent - "...In the '30s and '40s her voice was clear, beautiful and the embodiment of young in heart...captures 39 examples, including her first hit with the Chick Webb Orchestra, 'A-Tisket, A-Tasket' and her great version of 'Paper Moon'..."
JazzTimes - 8/93, p.64
"...This is a nice BIRTHDAY present from Ella....It has the novelty hits...and it has masterpieces..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.A-Tisket, A-Tasket
  • Buy for $0.992.Undecided
  • Buy for $0.993.Don't Worry 'Bout Me
  • Buy for $0.994.Stairway To The Stars
  • Buy for $0.995.Five O'Clock Whistle - (with The Ink Spots)
  • Buy for $0.996.Cow Cow Boogie - (with The Ink Spots)
  • Buy for $0.997.Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall
  • Buy for $0.998.It's Only A Paper Moon
  • Buy for $0.999.Flying Home
  • Buy for $0.9910.Stone Cold Dead In The Market - (with Louis Jordan)
  • Buy for $0.9911.You Won't Be Satisfied - (with Louis Armstrong)
  • Buy for $0.9912.I'm Just A Lucky So And So
  • Buy for $0.9913.I Didn't Mean A Word I Said
  • Buy for $0.9914.Oh, Lady Be Good
  • Buy for $1.2915.How High The Moon
  • Buy for $0.9916.My Happiness
  • Buy for $0.9917.Black Coffee
  • Buy for $0.9918.In The Evening When The Sun Goes Down
  • Buy for $0.9919.Basin Street Blues
  • Buy for $0.9920.I've Got The World On A String

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Ain't Nobody's Business But My Own
  • Buy for $1.292.Dream A Little Dream Of Me - (with Louis Armstrong)
  • Buy for $0.693.Smooth Sailing
  • Buy for $0.994.Airmail Special
  • Buy for $0.695.Rough Ridin'
  • Buy for $0.996.Goody, Goody
  • Buy for $0.997.Angel Eyes
  • Buy for $0.998.You'll Have To Swing It (Mr. Paganini) - (parts 1 & 2)
  • Buy for $0.999.Preview
  • Buy for $0.9910.Blue Lou
  • Buy for $0.9911.I Wished On The Moon
  • Buy for $0.9912.Until The Real Thing Comes Along
  • Buy for $0.6913.Lullaby Of Birdland
  • Buy for $0.9914.That Old Black Magic
  • Buy for $0.9915.Old Devil Moon
  • Buy for $0.9916.Lover, Come Back To Me
  • Buy for $0.9917.Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
  • Buy for $0.9918.Hard Hearted Hannah
  • Buy for $0.9919.My One And Only Love

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); The Ink Spots (vocals); Louis Jordan (vocals); Louis Armstrong.
Compilation producers: Milt Gabler, Orrin Keepnews.
Recorded between 1935 and 1955. Includes liner notes by Milt Gabler and Dan Morgenstern.
1945-55 recordings originally produced by Milt Gabler.
Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Louis Jordan (vocals, reeds, alto saxophone); Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); John Trueheart (guitar, banjo); Danny Perri, Everett Barksdale, Ulysses Livingston, Hy White, Carl Hogan , Bernie Mackay, Bob Johnson, Al Casamenti, Jimmy Shirley, Bill Jennings, Bobby Johnson (guitar); Janet Pullman (harp); Hank D'Amico (clarinet); Hilton Jefferson (reeds, alto saxophone); Sam "The Man" Taylor (reeds, tenor saxophone); Dick Jacobs (reeds, percussion); George Koenig, Sid Rubin, Milton Chatz, Garvin Bushell, Art Drelinger, Pete Clark, Chauncey Houghton, Jack Greenberg, Al Howard, Dave McRae , Sam Simmons, Bernard Kaufman, Jerry Jerome, Sid Cooper, Wayman Carver, Bill Stegmeyer, Al Klink, Hymie Schertzer, Harold Feldman, Art Drellinger, Milt Yaner (reeds); Frank Ludwig, Josh Jackson (tenor saxophone); Ernie Caceres (baritone saxophone); Chris Griffin , Andrew Ferretti, Tony Faso, John McGhee , Louis Ruggiero, Chuck Genduso, Irving "Mouse" Randolph, Ralph Musillo, Leonard Graham, Dale McMickle, Aaron Izenhall, Mario BauzĀ , Paul Webster, Taft Jordan, Jimmy Nottingham, Bob Peck, Bob Stark , Dick Vance, Bobby Stark , Bernie Privin, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Nat Story, Henderson Chambers, Fred Ohms, Frank Sarroco, William Pritchard, Jack Satterfield, Ward Silloway , Earl Hardy, John McConnell, Al Grey, Sandy Williams , Will Bradley, George Matthews , Cutty Cutshall, Bobby Byrne, Mort Bullman (trombone); Bill Doggett (piano, organ); John Lewis, Don Abney, Tommy Fulford, Ellis Larkins, Hank Jones , Moe Wechsler, Joe Bushkin, Stan Freeman, Billy Kyle , Bill Davis (piano); Chick Webb , Cozy Cole, Sylvester Payne, George Wettling, Eddie Byrd, Irv Kluger, Jimmy Crawford , Joe Harris , Joe Morris , Larry Bunker, Morey Feld, Rudy Taylor, Bill Beason, Andre Webb, Johnny Blowers (drums); Harry Dial, Vic Lourie (percussion); Andy Love Quintet, The Ray Charles Singers (background vocals).
Liner Note Authors: Dan Morgenstern; Bud Katzel; Milt Gabler .
Recording information: New York, NY (05/02/1938-08/05/1955).
Photographers: Scott Johnson ; Frank Driggs.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Chick Webb & His Orchestra; Ella Fitzgerald & Her Famous Orchestra; The Delta Rhythm Boys; Ella Fitzgerald & Her Savoy Eight; Gordon Jenkins; Gordon Jenkins & His Orchestra; Ray Charles; Sy Oliver; The Ink Spots; The Song Spinners; Tutti Camarata; Vic Schoen; Benny Carter ; Benny Carter & His Orchestra .
This attractive two-CD set, released to celebrate Fitzgerald's 75th birthday, is a perfect greatest-hits collection spanning the first half of her very productive career. All 39 songs are winners, highlighted by "A-Tisket, A-Tasket," "Undecided," "Flying Home," "Lady Be Good," "How High the Moon," "Smooth Sailing," "Airmail Special," "Lullaby of Birdland," and "Hard Hearted Hannah." During the period covered by this package, she developed from a fine big-band pop vocalist into the definitive jazz singer, one who could scat and swing with the best musicians. This set is a perfect introduction to her magic. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • UPC: 011105061926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.89/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)