Ella Fitzgerald Fitzgerald & Pass...Again

Fitzgerald & Pass...Again
13 ratings
12 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YR6Y
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: OJC


  • Buy for $0.991.I Ain't Got Nothin' But The Blues
  • Buy for $0.992.Tis Autumn
  • Buy for $0.993.My Old Flame
  • Buy for $0.994.That Old Feeling
  • Buy for $0.995.Rain
  • Buy for $0.996.I Didn't Know About You
  • Buy for $0.997.You Took Advantage Of Me
  • Buy for $0.998.I've Got The World On A String
  • Buy for $0.999.All Too Soon
  • Buy for $0.9910.One I Love, The (Belongs To Somebody Else)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Solitude
  • Buy for $1.2912.Nature Boy
  • Buy for $0.9913.Tennessee Waltz
  • Buy for $0.6914.One Note Samba

Product Description:

Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Joe Pass (guitar).
Recorded at RCA Studios, Los Angeles, California from January 29 to February 8, 1976. Includes liner notes by Benny Green.
Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1988, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Joe Pass (guitar).
Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
Liner Note Author: Benny Green .
Recording information: RCA, Los Angeles, CA (01/29/1976-02/08/1976).
Photographer: Phil Stern.
Joe Pass' virtuoso solo albums receive a lot of attention, but the guitarist actually shines brighter in tandem with Ella Fitzgerald. To paraphrase another guitarist, Jim Hall, having to play tennis without a net is the greater test of one's imagination and skill. Fitzgerald holds the dynamic reins. She croons and shouts, whispers, and soars. Pass acquits himself nicely as an excellent accompanist.
The selection of material is wonderful. Wrongfully obscure standards sit comfortably alongside creative interpretations of more familiar works. "Tennessee Waltz" is done as a delicate shuffle. AGAIN is one of those records that serves to remind that jazz is not always about furious blowing or about one's stamina as an inventor. Pass' eight-and-sixteen-bar solos abound in creativity and are devastatingly effective miniatures. But the effort here is to illuminate the material, not to overshadow it, and the duo does so to great effect. Fitzgerald rarely scats on AGAIN, preferring instead to point out more imaginative routes through the melody on her second time around.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 106,061
  • UPC: 025218705226
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)