Ella Fitzgerald For the Love of Ella (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
2 ratings
Only 7 copies left
List Price: $22.98
Your Price: $20.68
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  PLG 841765

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: 1990
  • Label: Polygram Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.A-Tisket, A-Tasket
  • 2.Oh Lady, Be Good
  • 3.Stompin' at the Savoy
  • 4.How High the Moon
  • 5.Mr. Paganini
  • 6.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 7.Mack the Knife
  • 8.Caravan
  • 9.A Night in Tunisia
  • 10.Rockin' in Rhythm
  • 11.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 12.I Got Rhythm - (bonus track)
  • 13.Fine Romance, A - (bonus track)
  • 14.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 15.Party Blues - (bonus track)
  • 16.Cottontail - (bonus track)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Misty
  • 2.Sophisticated Lady
  • 3.Midnight Sun
  • 4.Solitude
  • 5.How Long, How Long Blues
  • 6.I Loves You Porgy
  • 7.Summertime
  • 8.Mood Indigo
  • 9.Laura
  • 10.Stormy Weather
  • 11.Autumn in New York
  • 12.These Foolish Things - (bonus track)
  • 13.I Can't Get Started - (bonus track)
  • 14.See See Rider - (bonus track)
  • 15.I Love Paris - (bonus track)
  • 16.Blues in the Night - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Freddie Green, John Collins, Herb Ellis, Jim Hall, Barney Kessel (guitar); Ray Nance (violin, trombone); Stuff Smith (violin); Frank Wess (flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Eric Dixon (flute, tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (clarinet, bass clarinet); Marshall Royal, Russell Procope (clarinet, alto saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Buddy DeFranco (clarinet); Johnny Hodges, Sonny Stitt (alto saxophone); Coleman Hawkins, Flip Phillips, Frank Foster, Illinois Jacquet, Lester Young , Plas Johnson , Stan Getz , Ben Webster, Bob Cooper (tenor saxophone); Clark Terry, Don Fagerquist, Don Rader, Flip Ricard, Harry "Sweets" Edison , Joe Newman , Roy Eldridge, Thad Jones, Al Aarons, Willie Cook, Sonny Cohn, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Milt Bernhart, Dick Nash , Grover Mitchell , Henry Coker, J.J. Johnson , Quentin Jackson, Urbie Green, Benny Powell, John Sanders, Britt Woodman (trombone); Count Basie, Duke Ellington, Jimmy Rowles, Lou Levy, Oscar Peterson, Paul Smith (piano); Wild Bill Davis (organ); Frank Flynn (vibraphone); Connie Kay, Gus Johnson , Jo Jones , Louie Bellson, Alvin Stoller, Sam Woodyard, Sonny Payne, Stan Levey (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Dennis Drake.
Liner Note Author: Imme Schade VanWestrum.
Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (02/07/1956-07/20/1966); New York, NY (02/07/1956-07/20/1966).
Photographer: Herman Leonard.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Daniel Richard; Jean-Philippe Allard; Nelson Riddle; Buddy Bregman.
Arranger: Quincy Jones.
This double CD gives listeners some of the highlights from Ella Fitzgerald's period with Verve, 32 performances divided into "Monuments of Swing" and "Ballads & Blues." Putting all of the uptempo works on one CD is an odd idea and the music is not placed in chronological order. There are many gems on this French import but the more serious collectors will prefer to get her other more complete reissues instead. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info:

  • UPC: 042284176521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items