Ella Fitzgerald The Intimate Ella

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
25 ratings
List Price: $11.98
SALE PRICE: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  PLG 839838

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • 1.Black Coffee
  • 2.Angel Eyes
  • 3.I Cried For You
  • 4.I Can't Give You Anything But Love, Baby
  • 5.Then You've Never Been Blue
  • 6.I Hadn't Anyone 'Till You
  • 7.My Melancholy Baby
  • 8.Misty
  • 9.September Song
  • 10.One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)
  • 11.Who's Sorry Now
  • 12.I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
  • 13.Reach For Tomorrow

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Paul Smith (piano).
This is a most unusual Ella Fitzgerald recording, reissued on CD by Verve. Recorded around the time when she performed some of these songs for the film Let No Man Write My Epitaph, the masterful singer is heard in duets with pianist Paul Smith interpreting 13 songs (even "I Cried for You," "I Can't Give You Anything but Love" and "Who's Sorry Now") at slow expressive tempoes. Listeners who feel that Ella Fitzgerald was mostly a scat singer who had trouble giving the proper emotional intensity to lyrics will be surprised by this sensitive and often-haunting set. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 25 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 64,838
  • UPC: 042283983823
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: