Ella Fitzgerald Oh, Lady, Be Good!: Best of the Gershwin Songbook

Oh, Lady, Be Good!: Best of the Gershwin Songbook
22 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YR46
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $1.291.Fascinating Rhythm
  • Buy for $1.292.'S Wonderful
  • Buy for $1.293.Someone to Watch over Me
  • Buy for $1.294.He Loves and She Loves
  • Buy for $0.995.Oh, Lady Be Good
  • Buy for $1.296.A Foggy Day
  • Buy for $1.297.How Long Has This Been Going On?
  • Buy for $1.298.Let's Call the Whole Thing Off
  • Buy for $1.299.But Not for Me
  • Buy for $1.2910.My One and Only
  • Buy for $1.2911.I've Got a Crush on You
  • Buy for $1.2912.Nice Work If You Can Get It
  • Buy for $1.2913.The Man I Love
  • Buy for $1.2914.Funny Face
  • Buy for $1.2915.Embraceable You
  • Buy for $1.2916.They Can't Take That Away from Me
  • Buy for $1.2917.I Got Rhythm

Product Description:

Recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, California between January 5, 1959 and July 16, 1959. Originally released on Verve (825 024). Includes liner notes by William Ruhlmann.
Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Aric Lach Morrison (keyboards).
Liner Note Author: William Ruhlmann.
Recording information: Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA (01/05/1959-07/16/1959).
Editor: Peter Pullman.
Photographers: Kevin Knight; Carole Reiff.
Unknown Contributor Role: Aric Lach Morrison.
Nowhere was Ella Fitzgerald's mastery of America's "classical" music more evident than on the legendary songbook albums of the 1950s. Of the songwriting giants covered in the series, the collection of songs by George and Ira Gershwin was arguably the greatest. OH, LADY, BE GOOD! BEST OF THE GERSHWIN SONGBOOK collects 17 of the strongest cuts from the 5 original LPs. Why Gershwin? Ella's painstaking attention to musical perfection helped turn many songs into standards, but Ira Gershwin's lyrics seemed to speak to Ella most directly of all. Ira, who was present at these 1959 sessions, wrote lyrics that conveyed a sense of lightness and romanticism, qualities that fit Fitzgerald's vocal style to a tee. Ella's unique abilities are showcased on her masterful version of "Someone To Watch Over Me." While many singers have captured the song's sense of longing, Fitzgerald refuses to overdo it. She won't be too dismayed if the man of her dreams doesn't come through the door, but wouldn't it be just great if he did? A similarly refined mood threads its way through "The Man I Love" and "A Foggy Day," while the more upbeat tunes ("'S Wonderful," "Nice Work If You Can Get It") swing confidently.
Some would say Ella didn't pay much attention to the words she sang. But her insistence on recording many of the neglected verses that precede the well-known choruses on OH, LADY, BE GOOD prove otherwise. This commitment to the true gems of American songwriting helped the songs, and these performances in particular, become "standards" for a generation.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 22 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 121,171
  • UPC: 731452958129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)