Ella Fitzgerald Sings the Cole Porter Song Book [Bonus Tracks] (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Sings the Cole Porter Song Book [Bonus Tracks]
15% OFF
Rating 4.9
46 ratings
List Price: $33.98
SALE PRICE: $28.88
You Save: $5.10 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  PLG 5372572

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 24, 1997
  • Label: Polygram Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.All Through The Night
  • 2.Anything Goes
  • 3.Miss Otis Regrets
  • 4.Too Darn Hot
  • 5.In The Still Of The Night
  • 6.I Get A Kick Out Of You
  • 7.Do I Love You?
  • 8.I'm Always True To You In My Fashion
  • 9.Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love)
  • 10.Just One Of Those Things
  • 11.Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
  • 12.All Of You
  • 13.Begin The Beguine
  • 14.Get Out Of Town
  • 15.I Am In Love
  • 16.From This Moment On

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Love Paris
  • 2.You Do Something To Me
  • 3.Ridin' High
  • 4.Easy To Love
  • 5.It's All Right With Me
  • 6.Why Can't You Behave?
  • 7.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 8.You're The Top
  • 9.Love For Sale
  • 10.It's De-Lovely
  • 11.Night And Day
  • 12.Ace In The Hole
  • 13.So In Love
  • 14.I've Got You Under My Skin
  • 15.I Concentrate On You
  • 16.Don't Fence Me In
  • 17.You're The Top - (previously unreleased, alternate take, CD only)
  • 18.I Concentrate On You - (previously unreleased, alternate take, CD only)
  • 19.Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love) - (previously unreleased, alternate take, CD only)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Buddy Bregaman (arranger, conductor).
Producer: Norman Granz.
Reissue producer: Richard Seidel.
Recorded at Capitol Studios, Los Angeles, California in February 1956. Includes liner notes by Robert Kimball.
Digitally remastered by Dennis Drake (PolyGram Studios).
Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Buddy Bregman (conductor); Bud Shank (alto saxophone, flute, clarinet); Herb Geller (alto saxophone, clarinet); Ted Nash (tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet); Bob Cooper (tenor saxophone, clarinet, oboe); Chuck Gentry (baritone saxophone, bass clarinet); Pete Candoli, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Maynard Ferguson, Conrad Gozzo (trumpet); Milt Bernhart, Joe Howard, Lloyd Ulyate (trombone); George Roberts (bass trombone); Robert La Marchina, Edgar Lustgarten (cello); Corky Hale (harp); Paul Smith (piano, celeste); Barney Kessel (guitar); Joe Mondragon (bass); Alvin Stoller (drums).
Recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, California on February 7-9 and March 27, 1956. Includes original release liner notes by Don Freeman, Fred Lounsberry and Norman Granz and liner notes by Neil Tesser.
Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Cole Porter, Eileen Farrell , Eileen Rodgers, Ethel Merman, Ethel Waters, Fred Astaire, Gene Kelly , Jeri Southern, Judy Garland, Lee Wiley, Lena Horne, Lisa Kirk, Mabel Mercer, Marilyn Martin, Marlene Dietrich, Peggy Lee , Benny Goodman, Billie Holiday, Bing Crosby, Bobby Short (vocals); Barney Kessel (guitar); Corky Hale (harp); Robert LaMarchina, Edgar Lustgarten (cello); Bud Shank (flute, clarinet, alto saxophone); Ted Nash (flute, clarinet, tenor saxophone); Bob Cooper (clarinet, oboe, tenor saxophone); Herb Geller (clarinet, alto saxophone); Chuck Gentry (bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Conrad Gozzo , Harry "Sweets" Edison , Maynard Ferguson, Pete Candoli (trumpet); Milt Bernhart, Joe Howard, Lloyd Ulyate (trombone); George Roberts (bass trombone); Paul Smith (piano, celesta); Alvin Stoller (drums, percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Norman Granz; Don Freeman; Fred Lounsberry; Robert Kimball; Neil Tesser.
Recording information: 02/07/1956-03/27/1956.
Photographers: Phil Stern; Carole Reiff.
Arrangers: Artie Shaw; Buddy Bregman.
Ella Fitzgerald had the ability to personalize some of the most recognizable material from the foremost songwriters in American popular music history. In this instance, the combination of Cole Porter's words and Fitzgerald's interpretation of them created one of the most sought after sessions embraced by jazz and pop fans alike, transcending boundaries often associated with those genres. Originally released in 1956 on the Verve label, such standards as "Night and Day," "I Love Paris," "What Is This Thing Called Love," "I've Got You Under My Skin," "You're the Top," and "Love for Sale" secured one of Ella Fitzgerald's crowning moments. The success of these early Porter (and previous Gershwin) sessions brought about numerous interpretations of other songbooks throughout the next several years including those of Rodgers and Hart, Duke Ellington, Johnny Mercer, Harold Arlen, and Irving Berlin. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 46 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 37,381
  • UPC: 731453725720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD: