The Best of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong

The Best of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong
67 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.61 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.38 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YR3K
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Polygram Records


  • Buy for $1.291.Let's Call the Whole Thing Off
  • Buy for $1.292.Love Is Here to Stay
  • Buy for $1.293.The Nearness of You
  • Buy for $1.294.Stars Fell on Alabama
  • Buy for $1.295.Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You
  • Buy for $1.296.They Can't Take That Away from Me
  • Buy for $1.297.Autumn in New York
  • Buy for $1.298.Summertime
  • Buy for $1.299.Tenderly
  • Buy for $1.2910.Stompin' at the Savoy
  • Buy for $1.2911.Under a Blanket of Blue
  • Buy for $0.9912.I Wants to Stay Here
  • Buy for $1.2913.I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
  • Buy for $0.9914.There's a Boat Dat's Leavin' Soon for New York
  • Buy for $0.9915.You Won't Be Satisfied (Until You Break My Heart)

Product Description:

Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Russell Garcia (conductor, arranger); Trummy Young (trombone); Edmond Hall (clarinet); Billy Kyle, Oscar Peterson (piano); Herb Ellis (guitar); Ray Brown, Dale Jones (bass); Louie Bellson, Buddy Rich, Barrett Deems (drums).
Principally recorded at Capitol Studios, The Hollywood Bowl, Hollywood, California from August 15, 1956 - August 28, 1957. Includes liner notes by William Ruhlmann.
Adapter: Deborah Hay.
Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Louis Armstrong (vocals, trumpet); Herb Ellis (guitar); Edmond Hall (clarinet); Tommy Young (trombone); Oscar Peterson, Billy Kyle (piano); Louie Bellson, Barrett Deems, Buddy Rich (drums).
Recording information: Capitol Studios, Holly, CA (08/26/1956-08/28/1957); Hollywood Bowl, Los Angeles, CA (08/26/1956-08/28/1957); Los Angeles, CA (08/26/1956-08/28/1957).
Editor: Peter Pullman.
Photographer: Phil Stern.
Unknown Contributor Role: Russell Garcia .
Arranger: Russell Garcia .
From August 1956 to August 1957, legendary jazz producer Norman Granz oversaw several recording sessions and a handful of concerts at the Hollywood Bowl starring two of the finest singers in jazz history, Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong. Fitzgerald was at the peak of her powers at the time, having clearly defined herself as the best female singer in jazz. Armstrong was comfortably settling into his Grand Old Man of Jazz role by this point, trading hot swing and fiery trumpet solos for genial, good-humored vocalizing.
Still, Armstrong was never one to back off from a challenge, and he holds his own divinely against the younger singer. Fitzgerald was Armstrong's only rival as a scat singer, and so nearly every track here dissolves into impressive competing scat solos. Fans of scat singing will rejoice.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 67 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,360
  • UPC: 731453790926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)