Firehouse Five Plus Two The Firehouse Five Plus Two Story (2-CD)

The Firehouse Five Plus Two Story (2-CD)
8 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $22.48
List Price: $24.98
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YR32
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Good Time Jazz

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Firehouse Stomp
  • Buy for $0.992.Everybody Loves My Baby
  • Buy for $0.993.Pagan Love Song
  • Buy for $0.994.San
  • Buy for $0.995.Fireman's Lament
  • Buy for $0.996.Blues My Naughty Sweetie Gives to Me
  • Buy for $0.997.Yes Sir! That's My Baby
  • Buy for $0.998.Red Hot River Valley
  • Buy for $0.999.Riverside Blues
  • Buy for $0.9910.Brass Bell
  • Buy for $0.9911.The World Is Waiting For the Sunrise
  • Buy for $0.9912.Tiger Rag
  • Buy for $0.9913.Frankie and Johnny
  • Buy for $0.9914.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • Buy for $0.9915.Sobbin' Blues
  • Buy for $0.9916.Just a Stomp at Twilight
  • Buy for $0.9917.Down Where the Sun Goes Down
  • Buy for $0.9918.St. Louis Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.12th Street Rag
  • Buy for $0.992.Copenhagen
  • Buy for $0.993.Wabash Blues
  • Buy for $0.994.Firechief Rag
  • Buy for $0.995.Lonesome Mama Blues
  • Buy for $0.996.Who Walks in When I Walk Out
  • Buy for $0.997.Chinatown, My Chinatown
  • Buy for $0.998.South
  • Buy for $0.999.Lonesome Railroad Blues
  • Buy for $0.9910.Show Me the Way to the Fire
  • Buy for $0.9911.Lovin' Sam
  • Buy for $0.9912.When You Wore a Tulip
  • Buy for $0.9913.Five Foot Two
  • Buy for $0.9914.San Antonio Rose
  • Buy for $0.9915.Southern Comfort
  • Buy for $0.9916.I've Been Floating Down the Old Green River
  • Buy for $0.9917.Mississippi Rag
  • Buy for $0.9918.Runnin' Wild

Product Description:

Firehouse Five Plus Two: Danny Alguire (trumpet); Ward Kimball (trombone, vocals, sound effects); Ed Penner (tuba, bass saxophone); John Lucas, Clarke Mallery, Tom Sharpsteen, George Probert (clarinet); Frank Thomas (piano, celeste); Harper Goff, Dick Roberts (banjo); Jim MacDonald, Monte Mountjoy, Jerry Hamm (drums).
Producers: Lester Koenig, Robert D. Kirstein and Neshuhi Ertegun.
Engineers: Lowell Frank, Val Valentin, Roy DuNann, Seth Perkins, John Palladino.
Recorded between 1949 and 1954. Originally released on Good Time Jazz as 3 titles "The Firehouse Five Plus Two Story" Vol. 1 (12010), Vol. 2 (12011), and Vol. 3 (12012). Includes original release liner notes by Lester Koenig.
Digitally remastered by Gary Hobish (1991, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
This double CD reissues the first three LPs by the Firehouse Five Plus Two, a very popular Dixieland group in the 1950s. In addition to trombonist Ward Kimball (who occasionally lets loose on a siren), the main soloists are generally trumpeter Danny Alguire and either Clarke Mallery, Tom Sharpsteen, or George Probert on clarinet. The spirited jamming mixes together standards, a few obscurities, and an occasional original (including "Firehouse Stomp," "Fireman's Lament," and "Firechief Rag"). Although not exactly innovative, the music is quite fun and easily recommended to Dixieland fans. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Firehouse Five Plus Two

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,602
  • UPC: 025218225526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.37/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)