Art Farmer ARTistry (2-CD)

ARTistry (2-CD)
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YQYE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Concord Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Red Cross
  • Buy for $0.992.You Know I Care
  • Buy for $0.993.She's Funny That Way (I Got A Woman Crazy For Me)
  • Buy for $0.994.Change Partners
  • Buy for $0.995.Summersong
  • Buy for $0.996.Love Walked In
  • Buy for $0.997.One For Sam

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Moose The Mooche
  • Buy for $0.992.And Now There's You
  • Buy for $0.993.Three Little Words
  • Buy for $0.994.Eclypso
  • Buy for $0.995.Sad To Say
  • Buy for $0.996.Upper Manhattan Medical Group
  • 7.Warm Valley

Product Description:

ARTISTRY contains 2 original Art Farmer LPs on 2 CD's: A WORK OF ART (1982) and WARM VALLEY (1983).
Art Farmer Quartet: Art Farmer (flugelhorn); Fred Hersch (piano); Bob Bodley, Ray Drummond (bass); Billy Hart, Akira Tana (drums).
Engineer: Phil Edwards, Ed Trabanco.
Recorded at Soundmixers, New York, New York in 1981 & 1982. Originally released on Concord (4179 & 4182). Includes liner notes by Stanley Crouch & Leonard Feather.
Personnel: Art Farmer (flugelhorn); Fred Hersch (piano); Akira Tana, Billy Hart (drums).
Audio Mixer: Phil Edwards .
Liner Note Authors: Leonard Feather; Stanley Crouch.
Recording information: Soundmixers, New York, NY (09/1981/09/1982).
Photographer: William Skip Rose.
Art Farmer's stay at Concord Jazz was relatively brief. The ex-trumpeter turned full-time flugelhornist only recorded two albums for Concord -- A Work of Art in 1981 and Warm Valley in 1982 -- both of which were produced by the late Concord founder Carl Jefferson. In 2001, Concord reissued the acoustic hard bop dates back to back as the two-CD set ARTistry. Farmer excels on both albums, which isn't surprising because his work was quite consistent in the '80s. A Work of Art and Warm Valley both find the improviser leading quartets; neither album uses a saxophonist and both feature a young Fred Hersch on piano. But while A Work of Art employs Bob Bodley on bass and Billy Hart on drums, Farmer is joined by bassist Ray Drummond and drummer Akira Tana on Warm Valley. As one might expect, the Bill Evans-influenced Hersch is a major asset on both albums. Hersch's pianism is perfect for these sessions because, like Farmer, he is swinging but extremely lyrical. For Farmer, bop wasn't just about how many notes you could play or how fast you could play them; it was about being expressive and telling a story, and Hersch felt the same way, which is why the musicians enjoy such a strong rapport on material that ranges from Tommy Flanagan's "Eclypso" and Billy Strayhorn's "Upper Manhattan Medical Group" to three Hersch pieces: "One for Sam," "And Now There's You," and "Summersong." ARTistry falls short of essential, but it's still a highly rewarding example of how great Farmer sounded in the '80s. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Art Farmer

Product Info

  • UPC: 013431497424
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)