Rod Piazza & The Mighty Flyers Blues In The Dark

Blues In The Dark
8 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  DGE3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Hepcat Records

Description by

Heavily influenced by Little Walter and George "Harmonica" Smith (he played with Smith in a band called Bacon Fat), harpist and vocalist Rod Piazza has been at the center of the West Coast blues scene for over three decades, and this 1991 release is one of his tastiest, with some luscious piano licks from wife Honey Alexander. Includes bonus tracks.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 4/5/91
B - " barroom blues with supper-club flair. The relaxed, swinging quality of their music starts with the fluid bounce of the rhythm section, continues with the sturdy support of guitarist Alex Schultz and pianist Honey Alexander, and is rounded off by Piazza's exquisitely understated blues harp."
Down Beat - 5/91
3 Stars - Good - "Piazza has Little Walter's harmonica style down cold"


  • 1.Too Late, Brother
  • 2.Bad Bad Boy
  • 3.California Blues
  • 4.Hear Me Knockin'
  • 5.Too Tired
  • 6.4811 Wadsworth (Blues for George)
  • 7.In the Dark
  • 8.The Toddle
  • 9.She Wants To Sell My Monkey
  • 10.Are You Out There?
  • 11.Low Down Dog
  • 12.Buzzin'
  • 13.Back Door Man (Bonus)
  • 14.Deep Fried (Bonus)
  • 15.Jam Up (Bonus)

Product Description:

Rod Piazza/Rod Piazza & the Mighty Flyers: Rod Piazza (vocals, harmonica); Alex Schultz (guitar); Honey Alexander (piano); Bill Stuve (bass instrument); Jimi Bott (drums).
Audio Mixers: David Farrell ; Hammond Scott.
A contemporary band, led by harmonica player/vocalist Piazza, has nice piano from Honey Alexander. ~ Niles J. Frantz

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Rod Piazza & The Mighty Flyers

Product Info

  • UPC: 670917274421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)