Indigo Girls Come on Now Social (Limited)

Come on Now Social (Limited)
103 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 08148
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 30, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 9/30/99, p.84
3.5 stars out of 5 - "...hits a career peak by simplifying the purple poetry into far more effective emotional reds and blues while bolstering the duo's acoustic strum....This is the culmination of everything warm and mighty about the Lilith Fair aesthetic..."
Entertainment Weekly - 10/15/99, p.83
"These earnest neo-folkies emerge as modern-rockers on this artfully crafted effort. Confidently electric tunes like 'Go' boast surging choruses while 'Gone Again' works a rustic vibe with uncontrived ease..." - Rating: B+
Q - 12/99, p.134
3 stars out of 5 - "...finds the duo mining this productive seam once again. They're on good form....a skilful outing..."


  • 1.Go
  • 2.Soon to Be Nothing
  • 3.Gone Again
  • 4.Trouble
  • 5.Sister
  • 6.Peace Tonight
  • 7.Ozilline
  • 8.We Are Together
  • 9.Cold Beer and Remote Control
  • 10.Compromise
  • 11.Andy
  • 12.Fay Tucker
  • 13.Sister - (reprise)
  • 14.Philosophy of Loss - (hidden track)

Product Description:

Indigo Girls: Emily Saliers (vocals, acoustic, electric & slide guitars, banjo, bazouki); Amy Ray (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, mandolin).
Additional personnel: Natacha Atlas (vocals); Ozilline Walker, Meridel Le Sueur (spoken vocals); Caroline Dale (cello, background vocals); John Reynolds (kazoo, drums, percussion); Carol Isaacs (accordion, Wurlitzer piano, organ, Moog synthesizer); Tim Green (tenor saxophone); Reginald Houston (baritone saxophone); Renard Poche (trombone); Malcolm Burn (piano, beat box); Ian Stanley (organ); Garth Hudson (keyboards); Clare Kenny (bass, background vocals); Rick Danko, Me'Shell Ndegeocello (bass); Jerry Marotta, Brady Blade Jr., Kate Schellenbach (drums); Dawson Miller (percussion); Pamela Stickney (Theremin); Joan Osborne, Sheryl Crow (background vocals); Justin Adams.
Principally recorded at The Ghost Rooms, London, England; Southern Tracks Recording, Atlanta, Georgia; Jerrsville Studios, Woodstock, New York.
COME ON NOW SOCIAL picks up where its predecessor, SHAMING OF THE SUN, left off. Emily Sailers and Amy Ray continue to bring electric guitars into play in the Indigo Girls' idiosyncratic, folk-based musical stew. The opening "Go" is one of their more blistering offerings to date, while "Trouble" seethes with almost equal vitriol. Pleasant and upbeat diversions such as the banjo and mandolin-tinged "Gone Again" and the pop-scented "Peace Tonight" leaven the mix.
An all-star cast of singers and instrumentalists lends its talents to COME ON NOW SOCIAL, including Sheryl Crow, Joan Osborne, and Me'Shell Ndegeocello. One of the most remarkable contributions comes from Natacha Atlas, who adds a stunning vocal performance on the sprawling, Celtic-flavored "Fay Tucker." The song was written as a tribute to Karla Fay Tucker, who, in 1998, became the first woman executed by the State of Texas since the Civil War. COME ON NOW SOCIAL is a thoroughly ambitious and rewarding effort and offers a good entry point into the Indigo Girls' catalogue.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 103 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Indigo Girls

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 44,723
  • UPC: 886970814829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Rock & Pop Music Categories:

Top ranking titles in the Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)