Duke Ellington The Carnegie Hall Concerts (January 1943) (Live) (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
The Carnegie Hall Concerts (January 1943) (Live)
10% OFF
Rating 4.5
8 ratings
Only 4 copies left
List Price: $24.98
Your Price: $22.48
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  PRS 34004

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 1, 1991
  • Label: Prestige

Entertainment Reviews:

Jazziz - 3/93, p.62
"...contains the original full-length version of Ellington's 'Black, Brown, And Beige,' one of his greatest and lengthiest works. In addition, there are plenty of specialties for Duke's many unique soloists..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Star Spangled Banner
  • 2.Black and Tan Fantasy
  • 3.Rockin' in Rhythm
  • 4.Moon Mist
  • 5.Jumpin' Punkins
  • 6.A Portrait of Bert Williams
  • 7.Bojangles
  • 8.Portrait of Florence Mills (Black Beauty)
  • 9.Ko Ko
  • 10.Dirge
  • 11.Stomp (Johnny Come Lately)
  • 12.Are You Sticking?
  • 13.Black - (1st movement of Black, Brown & Beige)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Brown - (2nd movement of Black, Brown & Beige)
  • 2.Beige - (3rd movement of Black, Brown & Beige)
  • 3.Bakiff
  • 4.Jack the Bear
  • 5.Blue Belles of Harlem
  • 6.Cotton Tail
  • 7.Day Dream
  • 8.Boy Meets Horn
  • 9.Rose of the Rio Grande
  • 10.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 11.Going Up
  • 12.Mood Indigo

Product Description:

Personnel: Duke Ellington (leader, arranger, piano); Betty Roche (vocals); Johnny Hodges, Ben Webster, Harry Carney, Otto Hardwicke, Chauncey Haughton (reeds); Ray Nance (trumpet, violin); Rex Stewart, Harold Baker, Wallace Jones (trumpet); Tricky Sam Nanton, Juan Tizol, Lawrence Brown (trombone); Fred Guy (guitar); Junior Raglin (bass); Sonny Greer (drums).
Recorded live at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York on January 23, 1943. Includes liner notes by Orrin Keepnews and Leonard Feather.
Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1991, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Betty Roch? (vocals); Fred Guy (guitar); Ray Nance (violin, trumpet); Harry Carney, Chauncey Houghton, Johnny Hodges, Otto Hardwick, Ben Webster (reeds); Harold Baker, Rex Stewart, Shorty Baker, Wallace Jones (trumpet); Joe "Tricky Sam" Nanton, Juan Tizol, Lawrence Brown (trombone); Sonny Greer (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Leonard Feather; Orrin Keepnews.
Recording information: Carnegie Hall, New York, NY (01/23/1943).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Jack Towers; Billy Strayhorn; Junior Raglin.
Arrangers: Duke Ellington; Billy Strayhorn.
Throughout the '40s, the Carnegie Hall concerts by Duke Ellington and his orchestra were the annual high points of jazz performance. Freed from the constraints of the dances that made up most of the Duke's live schedule, the Carnegie Hall concerts gave Ellington an opportunity to explore his longer, classical-influenced pieces as well as the pop tunes that made the band's reputation.
Opening with a stirring "Star-Spangled Banner" (it was the middle of World War II, remember), the orchestra alternates between favorites like "Rockin' in Rhythm" and impressionistic tone poems like the three-part "Portraits" mini-suite. The centerpiece is a brilliant presentation of Ellington's lengthy "Black, Brown and Beige," one of his most artistically satisfying extended pieces. After this tour de force, the orchestra plays a few favorites, like "Don't Get Around Much Anymore," before closing with a spirited "Mood Indigo." This two-disc concert beautifully captures all aspects of Ellington's wartime band.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info:

  • UPC: 025218540421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.37/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items