Miles Davis Chronicle - The Complete Prestige Recordings (8-CD Box Set)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.6
11 ratings
Only 4 copies left
List Price: $89.98
Your Price: $80.98
You Save: $9 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (8 Discs)
Item:  PRS 12

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 8
  • Released: August 18, 1989
  • Label: Prestige

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Morpheus
  • 2.Down
  • 3.Blue Room, The - (Take 1)
  • 4.Blue Room, The - (Take 2)
  • 5.Whispering
  • 6.I Know
  • 7.Odjenar
  • 8.Ezz-Thetic
  • 9.Hi Beck
  • 10.Yesterdays
  • 11.Conception
  • 12.Out of the Blue
  • 13.Denial
  • 14.Bluing
  • 15.Dig
  • 16.My Old Flame
  • 17.It's Only a Paper Moon

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Compulsion
  • 2.Serpent's Tooth, The - (Take 1)
  • 3.Serpent's Tooth, The - (Take 2)
  • 4.'Round About Midnight
  • 5.Tasty Pudding
  • 6.Willie the Wailer
  • 7.Floppy
  • 8.For Adults Only
  • 9.When Lights Are Low
  • 10.Tune-Up
  • 11.Miles Ahead
  • 12.Smooch
  • 13.Four
  • 14.Old Devil Moon
  • 15.Blue Haze

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Solar
  • 2.You Don't Know What Love Is
  • 3.Love Me or Leave Me
  • 4.I'll Remember April
  • 5.Blue 'N' Boogie
  • 6.Walkin'
  • 7.Airegin
  • 8.Oleo
  • 9.But Not for Me - (Take 1)
  • 10.But Not for Me - (Take 2)
  • 11.Doxy

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Bags' Groove - (Take 1)
  • 2.Bags' Groove - (Take 2)
  • 3.Bemsha Swing
  • 4.Swing Spring
  • 5.Man I Love, The - (Take 1)
  • 6.Man I Love, The - (Take 2)
  • 7.I Didn't
  • 8.Will You Still Be Mine?

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Green Haze
  • 2.I See Your Face Before Me
  • 3.A Night in Tunisia
  • 4.A Gal in Calico
  • 5.Dr. Jackle
  • 6.Bitty Ditty
  • 7.Minor March
  • 8.Changes
  • 9.In Your Own Sweet Way
  • 10.No Line
  • 11.Vierd Blues

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Stablemates
  • 2.How Am I to Know?
  • 3.Just Squeeze Me (But Don't Tease Me)
  • 4.There Is No Greater Love
  • 5.The Theme
  • 6.S'posin'
  • 7.In Your Own Sweet Way
  • 8.Diane
  • 9.Trane's Blues
  • 10.Something I Dreamed Last Night

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 1.It Could Happen to You
  • 2.Woody 'N You
  • 3.Ahmad's Blues
  • 4.The Surrey With the Fringe on Top
  • 5.It Never Entered My Mind
  • 6.When I Fall in Love
  • 7.Salt Peanuts
  • 8.Four
  • 9.Theme, The - (Take 1)
  • 10.Theme, The - (Take 2)
  • 11.If I Were a Bell
  • 12.Well, You Needn't

Tracks on Disc 8:

  • 1.'Round About Midnight
  • 2.Half Nelson
  • 3.You're My Everything
  • 4.I Could Write a Book
  • 5.Oleo
  • 6.Airegin
  • 7.Tune-Up
  • 8.When Lights Are Low
  • 9.Blues by Five
  • 10.My Funny Valentine

Product Description:

Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet, piano); Lee Konitz, Jackie McLean, David Schildkraut (alto saxophone); Sonny Rollins, Charlie Parker, Al Cohn, Zoot Sims, Lucky Thompson, John Coltrane (tenor saxophone); Bennie Green, Sonny Truitt, J.J. Johnson (trombone); Milt Jackson (vibraphone); John Lewis, Sal Mosca, Walter Bishop Jr., Charles Mingus, Horace Silver, Thelonious Monk, Red Garland, Ray Bryant, Tommy Flanagan (piano); Billy Bauer (guitar); Percy Heath, Arnold Fishkin, Tommy Potter, Leonard Gaskin, Oscar Pettiford, Paul Chambers (bass); Roy Haynes, Max Roach, Art Blakey, Philly Joe Jones, Kenny Clarke, Art Taylor (drums).
Producers: Bob Weinstock, Ira Gitler.
Compilation producer: Orrin Keepnews.
Engineers include: Les Cahan, Doug Hawkins, Rudy Van Gelder.
Recorde at Apex Studios, New York, New York between January 17 and October 5, 1951; WOR Studios, New York, New York on January 30 and May 19, 1953; Beltone Studios, New York, New York on February 19, 1953 and March 15, 1954; the Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey between April 3, 1954 and October 26, 1956. Includes liner notes by Dan Morgenstern and Orrin Keepnews.
Digitally remastered by Kirk Felton (Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet, piano); Billy Bauer (guitar); Charlie Parker (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Dave Schildkraut, Jackie McLean, Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); John Coltrane, Al Cohn, Lucky Thompson, Sonny Rollins, Zoot Sims (tenor saxophone); Sonny Truitt, J.J. Johnson , Bennie Green (trombone); John Lewis, John Richard Lewis, Horace Silver, Ray Bryant, Red Garland, Sal Mosca, Thelonious Monk, Tommy Flanagan, Walter Bishop, Jr., Charles Mingus (piano); Milt Jackson (vibraphone); Kenny Clarke, Max Roach, Philly Joe Jones, Roy Haynes, Art Blakey, Art Taylor (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Dan Morgenstern; Ira Gitler; Martin Williams ; Orrin Keepnews.
Recording information: Apex Studios, New York, NY (01/17/1951-10/26/1956); Beltone Recording Studios, New York, NY (01/17/1951-10/26/1956); Beltone Studios, New York, NY (01/17/1951-10/26/1956); Hackensack, NJ (01/17/1951-10/26/1956); Van Geder Studio, Hackensack, NJ (01/17/1951-10/26/1956); Van Gelder Studios, Hackensack, NJ (01/17/1951-10/26/1956); WOR STudios, New York, NY (01/17/1951-10/26/1956).
Photographers: Jim Marshall ; Burt Goldblatt; Bob Parent.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Ray Avery; Ralph Kaffel.
CHRONICLE: THE COMPLETE PRESTIGE RECORDINGS isn't a luxury, it's a necessity for fans of Miles Davis. Which isn't to say that listeners can't be perfectly happy with the individual OJC (Original Jazz Classics) reissues of his original recordings. It's just that when Miles first began recording, vinyl discs were moving from the 10" format to the modern 12" long playing, full length format which soon became an industry standard.
As a result, music from one session might very well be divided among several vinyl issues. So it came to pass that the famous Christmas Eve, 1954 session with Monk, Milt Jackson, Percy Heath and Kenny Clarke was split up and released on two separate discs, BAGS' GROOVE and MILES DAVIS AND THE MODERN JAZZ GIANTS. For the true devotee wishing to experience the evolution of Miles' glorious tone, CHRONICLE presents his 1951-1956 sessions in chronological order.
There are two notable exceptions: his 1955 date with Mingus and Elvin Jones, BLUE MOODS (originally recorded for the bassist's Debut label) and another 1955 date (session 15, with Art Taylor, Tommy Flanagan and Sonny Rollins) are presented out of order so that you can hear the uninterrupted development of Davis' classic Coltrane-Red Garland-Paul Chambers-Philly Joe Jones Quintet. The group's final two marathon 1956 sessions fulfilled Miles' contractual commitments, allowed him to sign with Columbia and subsequently yielded WORKIN', STEAMIN', RELAXIN' and COOKIN'. CHRONICLE features Davis with some of the greatest rhythm sections in jazz on definitive performances of "Dig," "Compulsion" (with Charlie Parker and Sonny Rollins on tenor), "Four," "Walkin'" and "Swing Spring." Essential.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Miles Davis

Product Info:

  • UPC: 025218440028
  • Shipping Weight: 3.03/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 8 items