Elvis Presley How Great Thou Art (With Bonus Tracks)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.9
37 ratings
List Price: $7.98
You Save: 80¢ (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  BMGE 722672

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Released: March 11, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: BMG / Elvis


  • 1.How Great Thou Art
  • 2.In The Garden
  • 3.Somebody Bigger Than You And I
  • 4.Farther Along
  • 5.Stand By Me
  • 6.Without Him
  • 7.So High
  • 8.Where Could I Go But To The Lord
  • 9.By And By
  • 10.If The Lord Wasn't Walking By My Side
  • 11.Run On
  • 12.Where No One Stands Alone
  • 13.Crying In The Chapel
  • 14.You'll Never Walk Alone
  • 15.We Call On Him
  • 16.Who Am I?

Product Description:

Personnel: Elvis Presley (vocals); The Jordanaires (vocals, background vocals); The Imperials Quartet (background vocals).
Recording information: 10/31/1960-02/22/1969.
Arranger: Elvis Presley.
Elvis Presley won three Grammy awards during his lifetime, all for his gospel performances. The 1967 album HOW GREAT THOU ART, a collection of fourteen sacred songs drawn largely from the standards of the genre, was his third gospel recording and his first Grammy winner. While Presley's previous gospel album, 1960's HIS HAND IN MINE, stayed within the vocal quartet tradition Presley had loved as a child, HOW GREAT THOU ART places greater emphasis on Elvis' solo voice, framed by a larger church choir.
Friends and musical associates often remarked that Presley was happiest when singing gospel music. HOW GREAT THOU ART supports their claims; throughout the album, Presley sounds completely at ease with the material. The King's versatility serves him well here, as the material ranges from footstompers ("By and By") to sweet ballads ("Crying in the Chapel," "In the Garden") to the near-operatic title track and a similarly dramatic reading of "Where No One Stands Alone." The final track, "Peace In The Valley," was recorded for a 1957 gospel EP of the same title.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 37 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Elvis Presley

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 1,717
  • UPC: 886972267227
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Christian & Gospel genre:

Top ranking CD: