John Coltrane Fearless Leader [Box Set] (6-CD Box Set)

Fearless Leader [Box Set] (6-CD Box Set)
17 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (6 Discs)
sku:  YRXC
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Prestige

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.110
Ranked #10 in Rolling Stone's "The Top 10 Reissues Of 2006" -- "[T]hese are thrilling hard-bop jams featuring Coltrane as an impetuous seeker..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.117
4 stars out of 5 -- "Here Coltrane honed his famous 'sheets of sound' style and explored uncharted music vistas."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Straight Street
  • Buy for $0.992.While My Lady Sleeps
  • 3.Chronic Blues
  • 4.Bakai
  • Buy for $0.995.Violets for Your Furs
  • 6.Time Was
  • Buy for $0.997.I Hear a Rhapsody
  • Buy for $0.998.Trane's Slo Blues
  • 9.Slowtrane
  • Buy for $0.6910.Like Someone in Love
  • Buy for $0.9911.I Love You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.You Leave Me Breathless
  • 2.Bass Blues
  • Buy for $0.993.Soft Lights and Sweet Music
  • 4.Traneing In
  • Buy for $0.995.Slow Dance
  • 6.Lush Life
  • 7.The Believer
  • 8.Nakatini Serenade

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Come Rain or Come Shine
  • 2.Lover
  • 3.Russian Lullaby
  • 4.Theme for Ernie
  • 5.You Say You Care
  • 6.Good Bait
  • 7.I Want to Talk About You
  • 8.Rise 'n Shine
  • 9.I See Your Face Before Me

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.If There Is Someone Lovelier Than You
  • 2.Little Melonae
  • 3.By the Numbers
  • 4.Black Pearls
  • 5.Lover Come Back to Me
  • 6.Sweet Sapphire Blues

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • Buy for $0.991.Spring Is Here
  • 2.Invitation
  • 3.I'm a Dreamer, Aren't We All
  • 4.Love Thy Neighbor
  • 5.Don't Take Your Love from Me
  • 6.Stardust
  • 7.My Ideal
  • 8.I'll Get By

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Do I Love You Because You're Beautiful?
  • 2.Then I'll Be Tired of You
  • 3.Something I Dreamed Last Night
  • 4.Bahia
  • 5.Goldsboro Express
  • 6.Time After Time

Product Description:

Personnel: John Coltrane (tenor saxophone); John Coltrane; Sahib Shihab (baritone saxophone); Johnny Splawn (trumpet); Mal Waldron (piano); Louis Hayes (bass instrument, drums); Paul Chambers (bass instrument); Jimmy Cobb , Art Taylor (drums); Wilbur Harden (trumpet, flugelhorn); Donald Byrd, Freddie Hubbard (trumpet); Red Garland (piano); Albert "Tootie" Heath (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Liner Note Authors: Patrick Milligan; Cheryl Pawelski; Lewis Porter; Richard S. Ginell.
Recording information: Van Gelder Studios, Hackensack, NJ (05/31/1957-12/26/1958).
Photographer: Burt Goldblatt.
This six-disc set collects just some of the legendary saxophonist John Coltrane's prodigious recorded output for the Prestige jazz label during the mid-1950s, assembled in chronological order. More conventional than his later 1960s work, these tracks nevertheless convey some idea of his fiery individualism, with highlights including a bop version of "Soft Lights and Sweet Music," as well as lyrical readings of Billy Strayhorn's world-weary "Lush Life" and Hoagy Carmichael's "Stardust."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 17 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for John Coltrane

Product Info

  • UPC: 888072300590
  • Shipping Weight: 1.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 6 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)