Dion Son of Skip James

Son of Skip James
28 ratings
Price: $9.89
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  QS96
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Verve Forecast

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.78
4 stars out of 5 -- "[The title track is] a steady rolling acoustic guitar-and-piano tribute of wondrous timbre and hypnotising rhythm."


  • 1.Nadine
  • 2.My Babe
  • 3.Hoodoo Man Blues
  • 4.Drop Down Mama
  • 5.Hoochie Coochie Man
  • 6.Baby I'm in the Mood
  • 7.I'm a Guitar King
  • 8.The Thunderer
  • 9.Interlude - Spoken Word
  • 10.Son of Skip James
  • 11.Preachin' Blues
  • 12.If I Had Possession (Over Judgement Day)
  • 13.Devil Got My Woman

Product Description:

Personnel: Dion (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Dion DiMucci (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Rick Krive (piano); Bob Guertin (organ, percussion).
Recording information: Sounds Great Productions.
Author: Dion DiMucci.
Photographers: Bill Bush; Susan Dimucci; Michael Friedman.
Dion set the stage for SON OF SKIP JAMES by tackling classic blues material on his previous album, BRONX IN BLUE. On that album's successor, he delves even further into his blues bag, including not only Skip James but also songs that range from Chuck Berry's "Nadine" to Muddy Waters' "Hoochie Coochie Man." He takes on this repertoire with a mostly acoustic approach, maintaining an obvious reverence but, to his credit, never sounding slavishly imitative of the originals.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Dion

Product Info

  • UPC: 602517491595
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)